Beautiful 7 Bedroom 19th Century House with pool and tennis court in grounds needs long term housesitters

House Sitter Needed for Username: rwmathias   

Save

Posted or Updated: May 29,2016   Applications: 4

Location
Rural location near Granville, Granville
Manche France
Availability
Aug 21,2016
For Minimum of 6 months (with joint option to extend) | Long Term

The position would suit an active (perhaps retired) couple with independent means and transport keen to experience living in a beautiful house set in lovely grounds in rural Normandy but close to all amenities. The position is unpaid but all accommodation and services are provided (paid for).

*The House and its Location*

The house is a seven bedroom late 19th century property with a spacious two bedroom barn apartment (in which the guardiens live with use of all the facilities of property) in a separate building next to the main house. It is in a very good state of repair and is fully furnished with every modern convenience.

There is a tennis court and a heated outdoors swimming pool in around 3 acres of grounds.

The village is very small but Granville and Villedieu les Poeles are 15 minutes drive away, as are beautiful sandy beaches. Caen; the D Day beaches; Mont St Michel; St Malo; Bayeux are all about an hour away. Cherbourg is two hours away; Paris is two hours on the train direct from Granville. Eurotunnel is 5 hours away by car.

*Duties*

- full responsibility for maintaining and running the house and the separate apartment - payment of bills, maintaining simple accounts for the owners, dealing with utilities and local authorities - keeping the gardens and grounds neat and tidy - assistance with changeovers / tidying up etc when the house is used by family, friends, or occasionally rented out (in the latter case we would seek to enter into appropriate arrangments for remuneration for these services) - daily cleaning and maintenance of the swimming pool (during the non-winter months) - maintenance of the tennis court - regular communication with us with accounts and updates - (possibly accommodating our dog, a border collie, very occasionally)

*Who should apply*

- a couple (or family) with own income (although we pay all house related expenses) - people who love France - lovers of peace and quiet - people with own transport - French speakers (or keen to learn) - gardeners (especially kitchen gardeners) - people with some DIY skills - 

*Anything to bear in mind before applying*

This might suit people wanting to try out living in France before making the full commitment; writers or anyone who can do business over the internet; a retired but active couple; or anyone who is keen to experience life in Normandy.

If you are wanting to earn an income in France you will need to be registered for tax and social security.

We are looking for people who will commit to the following:

- to stay for at least three months ideally with the option to extend if both parties are happy - to take full responsibility for the running of the house and to maintain all the facilities (including the pool and tennis court) using outside contractors where necessary - a willingness to accommodate the use of the main house by us and our family and friends and to support its use as such - to reside in the apartment (as though you were owner-occupiers (making appropriate arrangements for holidays and time away) - the need for independent transport (this is essential) - the need for a separate income as although we pay all the house costs, you would have to pay for your food, transport and general living expenses - a willingness to maintain the gardens and grounds to a reasonable level (eg mowing lawns and generally keeping the place tidy) - an interest in gardening - you would be part of the local community which is very small and very French - ideally you would visit the house and meet the current guardien, Daniel, before either party made a commitment.

We are looking for long-term housesitters (at least six months). Start date to be agreed but ideally some time in November 2021

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

rwmathias is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR