From Sep 1, 2006 For 6 months to a year

House Sitter Needed for Username: mairbrady   


Posted or Updated: Aug 10,2006   Applications: 0

near chicopee, springfield
Massachusetts United States
Sep 1,2006
For 6 months to a year |

$460 to $580/mth / 1br in 4 br home Housesitter(s) Springfield, Mass (Off Newbury St. Near Chicopee Line)

Hi, I recently posted for a professional or professional couple interested in housesitting. I learned a little after going through the process, so I want to repost giving more details to help find the right match for your needs and my needs. It seems like a lot of detail (it is) but I hope it shows that I am being upfront and not looking to spring any surprises!

Prefer house sitters who are looking for six months to a year, academics would be a good match as I live near Elms College, WNEC, Springfield, Bay Path, STCC, HCC, AIC, also the major hospitals.

The person or persons will need to be bonded for a $25,000 surety bond. this is a simple, straight forward procedure, you apply at an insurance agent that provides bonding, fill out an application and the insurance company runs a credit check, background check and criminal check and if you are an acceptable risk, you get your bond. The cost varies between $100-$150, which pales in comparison to having to pay 1st, Last and Security to rent and assures me of your suitability to live in my home.

I am NOT looking for rent, this is not a rental, you are responsible for expenses only, the expenses are pretty much set except for electric, so you can plan your budget based on the following;

Lawn Cutting/Yard Work Fixed April to November Oil Fixed (on a budget plan) Electric average you pay what you actually use Cable approx. you pay what you chose to have Internet Free unless you want Cable Internet, my dial up connects at 42 to 44k so I use it with service Home Telephone I have the unlimited calling plan) Water/Sewer should cover unless you go crazy) Security Alarm system Fixed Total: 580. (give or take with electric, water use)

Yard – Fixed during the mowing/Leaf Season April to November During December to March, you are responsible for removing snow from driveway, walkway, and sidewalk (city ordinance), I will let you choose if you want to pay to have it done or do it yourself (I do have a snowblower), and you may deduct the $120/mth that you pay during the lawn season from your expenses for those months.

Move In Pay $ for “last month’s utilities” Next payment for expenses would be the 1st of the next month I will pay all the bills, you will write one check to me per month for actual expenses (I will give you the actual electric and other flexible totals monthly)

In return you get a LARGE bedroom, new paint, newer carpet, ALL new furniture, and queen size bed & mattress, two closets, linens for everything, exclusive use of downstairs full bathroom, tub/shower, closets for storage, use of kitchen, living room, formal dining room, basement exercise/tv room, washer, dryer, garbage disposal, dishwasher, every room is furnished with new furniture, all dishes, linens etc. The upstairs contains the office which you may use, and a guest room (which you can use for guests on an occasional basis), my master bedroom and bathroom are "off limits" at all times.

the yard is a double lot size (big for the city) completely fenced off, with well kept lawn (done by a service). You may use the one car garage whenever I am not home.

As you are a housesitter and not a renter, you need to accept the following: 1. You absolutely cannot smoke, not inside or "outside" the house, because what starts as "outside" soon becomes well just in the porch, or only in the kitchen, etc. or "she will never know", trust me I will! 2. I may actually live in the home at times depending on what contract for work I am doing, this will not necessarily negate you from being a housesitter, but you will have to be comfortable with the fact I may come and go, however you will always remain responsible for the expenses (which should not increase greatly if I am there anyway My dog is a small dog, but pretty protective and doesn't like CATS at all, he would eat them if he could, so it won't work if you have a cat. I may consider a small dog, but my insurance doesn't allow for large dogs or the so called "aggressive breeds including chows". 4. If you have a dog, he is free to run outside in the dog pen area, but not to poop all over my yard, I don't let my dog do that either You can't be a slob, sorry, this is a "job" housesitting, and I may come home to be there too, no you don't have to be perfect either (I am not worried about dust, but kitchens, bathrooms are non-negotiable for being kept clean, and weekly vacuuming is necessary in any house. If you work hours that keep you from being able to keep dishes in the dishwasher and trash from overflowing, then this isn't the place for you I want you to feel at home, I understand you may have overnight guests or family and they can sleep comfortably in the guest room, they just can't "live here" 7. I hope this will work out as a mutual benefit, I get my house "watched" and cared for, and maybe make a friend or two and you get to live in safe, clean, presentable home and neighborhood while you are in transition for housing. There are still nice places to live in Springfield, honest!!! And the house is 2200 square feet, enough room to breathe!

So if you made it this far, think you would fit in, can handle it if I am home at times, can pass a bonding application, take care of snow removal (either yourself or you arrange for removal services) and keep things running smoothly then this may work out perfect.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

mairbrady is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners