From Apr 25, 2007 For 6 months

House Sitter Needed for Username: jlmmap   


Posted or Updated: Aug 28,2006   Applications: 0

Fargo, Moorhead, Detroit Lakes
Minnesota United States
Apr 25,2007
For 6 months |

******************************************************** ____UPDATE AS OF MONDAY SEPT. 25th 2006: We are still receiving many, many notices from interested applicants, for *possible* housesitting in late April of This update is to answer a few questions we've received, since the sheer volume of is too much to keep up with individually... _____[1] This is NOT a paid position. Utilities (within reason) are paid only. This is like living in a nature resort rent-free. Cost of living is cheap enough in this area you could work 2-3 hours a day and pay bills! ____[2] Operation of the wood stove is NOT required April - September. ____[3] You may continue to submit your interest for housesitting next April, but due to the volume of applicants, I will no longer respond to each of you individually. Instead, I will respond only to the most promising applicants--and it won't be for a few months at that--we're simply too swamped right now with our traveling plans and sporadic internet access. So, if you don't hear from us by at least the last week in March, you can assume we're looking elsewhere. However, I will also post a message to this profile, updating for all interested applicants, where we're at in this process. That way, no one will be "left hanging." ___[4] I realize some of you may need to decide your living arrangements for Summer 2007 before late March. In that case--and only if you're extremely qualified--please send a message with the following text in the subject line: " ***URGENT*** respond by: (date) " ...without the quotes, and with the date you need a response by. I will get back to you by the date you need a response. ___[5] If you are fed up with this very LONG profile message, I don't blame you. Such is the content management limitations of this site. If you're irritated enough to want to retract your interest, just send a message with: " ***DELETE ME*** " in the subject line and you won't hear from us again. ___Thanks for your patience and continued interest! ***************************************************

UPDATE AS OF Monday, September 4th 2006: We have found a couple to housesit for us until at least the middle of April However, we very well may need additional housesitting at that time, so keep us in mind, and let us know if you would be available then. Thanks! And thanks to all of you who have taken the time to correspond with us!

WE NEED: a Non-smoking, responsible person / couple, capable of operating an outdoor wood furnace and communicating with us via phone in case of any maintenance issues (fire wood and a snow removal service provided). You would probably want to have your own vehicle, as we cannot provide transportation for you at this time. Our two cats will NOT be in the home when you are house sitting, but if you are allergic, you should know that they have been in the house.

The home is a 3,000 sq. ft. log home with finished basement: 3 bedroom, 2 bath, washer & dryer, and utilities paid. A broadband internet connection will also be paid for and provided, but no cable TV. We have a Direct TV dish that's installed (and works), but you'd have to pay for the service and receiver if so desired.

The home is nestled on 40 acres of mostly wooded land, and your view off of the back deck is a private 8-acre pond only 50 feet from the house.

Our only visible neighbors are deer, ducks, geese, otter, bald eagles, woodchucks, and beavers.

There is a seperate garage, seperate log bunk house / artist's studio, and seperate 1500 sq. ft. private gym. These require minimal care in the winter, but the gym is heated and has rubber flooring (plus a large variety of free weight equipment) if you'd like to enjoy it.

Best of all: despite the serene location (which literally feels like a wildlife refuge), it's only 5.5 miles North of a popular lakes area town of about 8,500 people, so you have the convienience of the city AND the beauty of North Woods country living all in one setting.

The ideal house sitter (aside from requirements previously mentioned) would be a writer or artist, OR someone with a web-based business who enjoys beautiful rustic country living. Someone who is a personal trainer or yoga instructor could also make extra money by teaching classes or training clients in the private gym.

There will be times when we will want to return to our home for a visit, but it is a big place with plenty of room, so if you don't mind the intrusion, we won't mind sharing it with you during our visits (remember: there is a totally seperate bunkhouse you can stay in during those visits if you wish, as well as basement bedrooms).

If we choose you for house sitting, we'll want references and we'll probably do a criminal background check, so don't reply if these are a problem. We also want drug-free people in our home, so if this is a concern, please don't respond.

My wife is a counselor / therapist, and I am a novelist & e-business consultant. We're pretty young, friendly, and very easy to get along with.

Other amenities include: huge gas grill, paddle boat, canoe, walking trails through the woods, a 4 X 4 Pickup (non-licensed) for tooling around the property / gardening work, trash pickup, indoor woodburning stove, large collection of books, desktop computer with paid-for broadband internet and wireless router, covered Gazebo, a few fish in the pond, two small docks, breath-taking sunsets, Air Conditioning (though you rarely need it), massive built-in firepit next to the gym for marshmallow roasting.

Please contact if interested. We need someone ASAP, as we plan to be doing some full-time RVing by October 1st.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

jlmmap is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners