England - Borders of the Cotswolds between Oxford and Stratford Upon Avon

House Sitter Needed for Username: marche   


Posted or Updated: Jan 24,2024   Applications: 9

Great Bourton, Great Bourton, Banbury
Oxfordshire,Oxfordshire England

View location map
From: May 22,24  
To:      Jul 13,24
Days:  53, Medium Term Two spells see description

Hello Housecarers, We are Jane and Ian looking for housesitters for our home and our cat Jenson.

We will be away 23rd May 24 for 17 days and also 29th June 24 for 15 days.

Our ideal sitter(s) would be someone who could do both spells, and who want to do a bit of touring in the United Kingdom in the 2 weeks between. 

Jenson is elderly (15 years) and is deaf. He's both indoor / outdoor, but is inside for the evening and at night. He is very used to sitting on laps and sleeping on beds. It's not a requirement but that's where he will want to be if you let him. He is used to being left indoors if you go out for the day, and has an auto feeder for the evening meal. 

Our home is a barn conversion in a small village, called Great Bourton in Oxfordshire which is just outside the Cotswolds Area of Natural Beauty. We have 3 local pubs with meals (15 minutes to 20 minutes walk) and are within easy reach of Banbury (3 miles) with plenty of supermarkets, shops, restaurants, cafes, theatre and cinemas. We are 15 minutes drive from the nearest railway station with trains direct to London but a car is really needed to enjoy the lovely countryside nearby. The South Oxford canal is half a mile away or a 20 minute walk over farm fields.

Stratford Upon Avon is 22 miles away and Oxford and Blenheim Palace is 30 miles away and each can easily be visited in a day. You can visit Warwick, Coventry, Birmingham and Leamington Spa (all by train if you want) and also Worcester, Gloucester even Wales. There are plenty of historic houses and National Trust houses and gardens to see, as well as visiting our lovely Cotswold villages.

Our house is a cottage-style barn conversion with a small private walled garden. There is a guest bedroom and bathroom for our sitters, and we have WiFi broadband internet.

We need someone to feed and provide a lap for Jenson and to keep our garden maintained and tidy, watering if needed.

Thanks for reading through, hope to hear from you if you are interested in both sitting requirements, or just for one period.              

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

marche is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners