Long term caretaker for Victorian home in historic Old Louisville/bourbon country

House Sitter Needed for Username: travelingmcmahans   

Save

Posted or Updated   Aug 9,2018

Location
Old Louisville, Near downtown & University of Louisville, Louisville
Jefferson,Kentucky United States

View location map
Availability
Oct 1,2018
For long term stays | Long Term

House sit has been Removed, Filled, or Not Available

contact other Homeowners

We're looking for a hybrid of house/petsitter and property caretaker for three-month or longer terms at our property in Louisville, Kentucky.

You'll live in your own private quarters in the historic urban neighborhood of Old Louisville, just outside downtown, in exchange for helping take care of our residence and and maybe on occasion our two dogs.

The caretaker's carriage house is a modest but cute space over the detached garage. It's about 630 square feet and dates to 1890 or older, so you must love old homes with character. The studio-style apartment has a full kitchen with vintage farmhouse sink, an electric stove and microwave, and fridge. No dishwasher or laundry but you're welcome to use our laundry with prior arrangement. All utilities are included.

In exchange for housing we are looking for 12 hours a week of caretaking in our home – well, on the first two floors (about 3000 square feet) that is – of our home. That mostly will include housekeeping, but depending on your skill and interest could also include maintaining the (very small) front lawn and courtyard flowers. When we travel (which is infrequently) we would also require dog-sitting, which you would do in the main house if you prefer.

About the area: Louisville is booming right now as bourbon tourism takes off. We're in the heart of bourbon country but also boast a rich arts scene and nationally noted food scene. I'm a national food and travel writer and would love to send you articles about what makes Louisville so amazing. Our neighborhood is rapidly revitalizing and features the largest concentration of Victorian architecture in the country. We're walking distance from a Frederick Law Olmsted designed park that features outdoor Shakespeare performances all summer, as well as wonderful local eateries and a microbrewery.


About us: I'm a freelance writer and short term rental (Air/bnb) superhost and consultant, and my husband of 21 years is an HR professional at a downtown hospital. We traveled extensively for 20+ years but now this massive Victorian is our passion. Our two dogs, Truffle (a senior fluffball) and Cassius Thunderpaws (a mountain dog mix, but don't worry, he's a certified therapy dog) are our family. They are both exceedingly friendly and loving. We love to cook and entertain, are actively involved in our neighborhood – a revitalizing urban area just outside downtown – and need help keeping this grand old house in order. Our wonderful renter is moving so we're taking this as an opportunity to find the assistance we need, using our main resource which is the property itself. We met two of the loveliest people in the world through housecarers many years ago and hope to have the same luck again.

Also of note: I am an Air/bnb superhost and run a full time listing on our third floor. I handle that work myself with the help of a professional cleaner. But if this is of interest to you we could also discuss opportunities there.

Please get in touch with any questions; we look forward to hearing from you!

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

travelingmcmahans is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR