From Jul 4, 2007 For 8 weeks

House Sitter Needed for Username: kayteedee   


Posted or Updated: Jun 3,2007   Applications: 0

San Francisco Bay Area, San Francisco
California United States
Jul 4,2007
For 8 weeks |

We have a beautiful Edwardian two-unit building in the Haight-Ashbury area of San Francisco and one gorgeous and playful 5-year old kitty. We will be in Australia from 4 July 2007 to 1 September and need someone to live in and look after things.

This is a two-bedroom flat with classic Edwardian details, including formal dining room that opens double-parlor style into a living room with fireplace. Large kitchen and access to roof where there is a garden and BBQ facilities. We both work at home, so there are full office facilities -- wireless Internet, printer/copier, fax, cable TV, DVD/CD.VCR, etc. for your use. Great if you have your own laptop to "plug in" -- but there are older computers around the house you can use if you don't have your own. Laundry facilities are in the building and shared with tenants in downstairs unit. Cleaners come in about once every 3 weeks.

The neighborhood is fantastic -- walking distance to Upper & Lower Haight, Golden Gate Park, Buena Vista Park, the Castro & the Mission -- and located on 5 major bus/tranport lines for easy access to any point in San Fran or the Bay Area. There is a cafe on the corner and upscale supermarket/deli half a block away. Terrific choice of restaurants and shops all nearby.

In addition to feeding, brushing and being a companion to our kitty, a female marmelade tabby named Carson and extremely light plant care, we ask that you take care of mail (both business and personal) and notify us if there are any maintenance issues with the building. (Because it's a two-unit, we are also landlords. The tenants are great people and very responsible, but if a plumber or electrician is needed, we'd ask that you contact the person to do the repairs and "manage" the situation. It's unlikely something like this will occur, but it is an extra responsiblity you may need to take on.)

We do have a regular cat sitter who is happy to come in and feed Carson for a few days at a time if you wanted to do some short trips around California while staying at our place. We also don't mind if you have one or two visitors stay with you from time to time.

The start date of 4 July is slightly flexible (can be 6 or 7 of July) but the end date is firm (no later than 1 September). We will cover all utilities based on their 2006 cost (within 10%). We also ask that you be flexible enough to allow for two brief 3-day periods when someone else needs to stay at our home (in the living room, so as not to disrupt you). Both are females, one late-20s and the other mid-40s, who are regular guests in our home. Both need to make stops in San Fran on their way to and from work with us in Australia. These arrangements are already made due to flight bookings. The dates of the stays are 25 July - 29 July and 21 August August.

Because these other temprorary guests are women, we are going to request a housesitter who is female or a gay male. We're sure you understand.

This is an excellent opportunity for someone wishing to return to the Bay Area or explore it for the first time. We travel frequently, and if this opportunity works out, others can be available. We had a lovely couple from Australia stay here in the past -- but unfortunately, they are no longer available. So, we look forward to finding a new housesitter who will enjoy our home as much as the previous ones did, and take the best care of Carson the Kitty.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

kayteedee is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners