Long Term From Nov 1, 2015 For ~5 months I do not need Pet Care

House Sitter Needed for Username: Busyretirees   

Save

Posted or Updated: Oct 3,2014   Applications: 0

Location
Kemptville, Ottawa
North Grenville,Ontario Canada

View location map
Availability
Nov 1,2015
For ~5 months | Long Term

PLEASE - ONLY NON-SMOKING COUPLES WITH A CAR NEED APPLY.

We are looking for a non-smoking retired or financially independent couple without live-in children or pets to stay in our home for approximately 5 months from early Nov 2015 until early April 2016.

We are looking for individuals who are mature, responsible, competent, resourceful, have a cell phone or are willing to carry one when away from the premises and able to solve any small problems that may arise.

We own a well maintained 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom bungalow with a fully finished lower level, which includes a 3rd bedroom, a bathroom, craft room and Home Theatre. The home is on a 1 acre lot in a subdivision of custom built homes located a short distance from the Rideau River and a few kilometres north of the town of Kemptville, Ontario Canada.

Kemptville is located on Highway 416, approximately 30 km south of Ottawa (Canada's capital city) and 35 km north of Highway 401 and the Canada/U.S. border. It is flanked by several historic and charming small towns, the Rideau River and the Rideau Canal, which runs to Kingston, Ontario. A drive to Watertown, NY is 1.5 hours; Montreal is 2 hours and Toronto is about 4.5 hours away by car. Our town offers pretty much every service one requires, such as: hospital, banks, grocery stores, restaurants (fast food, ethnic, pubs, family and fine dining), coffee and specialty shops, bowling alley, entertainment and local theatre, library, Walmart Supercentre, Canadian Tire store, Staples, and more businesses are continually being added to the Colonnade Shopping Complex. Our location is peaceful and serene and although we have neighbours, they are not on top of us. The streets are ideal for leisurely walks and bike riding. There are great walking and cross country ski trails within 3 km of our house and downhill skiing is about 1.5 hours away.

House sitters MUST have their own vehicle as the closest shopping is approximately 6 km away and there is no public transit service - although there is a local taxi company. As you approach our house, you will notice a large enclosed, 3 season front porch; an ideal place to relax with a hot or cold drink and watch the world go by. The main floor has a living and dining area that share a natural gas fireplace - great place to cozy up with a book on a cool winter day. On this floor, there is also an oversized kitchen with granite counters, raised breakfast bar and eating area, master bedroom with 5 piece ensuite and walk-in closet; second bedroom, 4 piece bathroom, and a laundry room equipped with a large front loading washer and dryer. There is a door to the double car garage from the laundry room. There is only one inside parking space as we will be leaving our second vehicle in the garage. The driveway can accommodate 6+ cars.

The lower level has a very large finished family/home theatre room with a wood pellet stove, 3rd bedroom, 3 piece bathroom, craft room and storage area. Our home is equipped with Cogeco cable television with 3 PVRs; high speed cable internet, land line telephone with a “block of time” for calling anywhere in Canada and the U.S. any time of day, and a monitored home alarm system. There is a natural gas powered whole home standby generator that will power the entire house should there be a power failure. We are on a well and septic system and have a water softener. Our well water is tested twice yearly. Our home and property show pride of ownership and we are looking for a house sitting couple to care for it as we do. Responsibilities include: 1) keeping the front walk and driveway free of snow. We have a large snow blower with an electric start. 2) picking up and sorting mail 3) being the first point of contact for the alarm company, should a house alarm go off, for any reason.

We want our house sitters to feel totally at home while here and welcome to use household supplies and replenish as needed.

As this is considered a long term house sit, and in accordance with recommendations on the Housecarers site, we ask house sitters to contribute towards the expenses for heat, hydro, cable TV and internet during their stay. This amount would be $500/month.

This is a perfect arrangement for those looking to live in a very nice house and neighbourhood in close proximity to Canada's capital city for very inexpensive "rent". If this arrangement sounds good to you, please send us information about yourselves with contact information regarding the best time and way to reach you. Preference will be given to those that also include references. That makes our job easier and eliminates the need for us to chase you down looking for that information. We acknowledge all applications, and hope to make a decision by Sept 1st.

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

Busyretirees is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR