Semi-rural housesit

House Sitter Needed for Username: oceannova   


Posted or Updated: Mar 14,2023   Applications: 3

Armstrong Creek, Northern suburbs, Brisbane
QLD Australia

View location map
From: May 1,23  
To:      Dec 31,23
Days:  245, Long Term Some flexibility on this timing

The timing for this housesit will start in May 2023 and would be for a period of approx. 7 months but there is flexibility in this timing.

We are looking for a reliable and caring person or couple interested in semi-rural living and enjoying the local wildlife, to look after our property whilst we are travelling around Australia. From past experience we have a preference for couples or single people with no children and who are non-smokers.

This housesit is also suitable for people travelling long term in a motorhome or caravan, wishing to take a long break, as we have a 3.4m high double carport.

The property is an "A" framed (two storey) brick house set on a ridge on 40 acres of rolling countryside with lovely views over a valley to the surrounding hills. It offers a galley kitchen, large lounge/dining room, master bedroom with ensuite, walk-in robe and attached study. Upstairs there is a second bedroom available, the main bathroom with bath and shower and a very large leisure room with TV. Two further bedrooms will not be available for use.
Immediately attached to the house is a 4 vehicle carport.

The property is 6 km from Dayboro, a small country town, 50 km north-west of Brisbane. Dayboro has the essential shops and restaurants, whilst Strathpine or North Lakes, some 30km away are large towns with Westfield shopping centres.
We would like to stress that the journey into Brisbane does take about one hour by car, depending on traffic and the nearest train station is at Petrie, about 25km away or alternatively Ferny Grove about 33 km away.

We have encouraged our wildlife, namely red-necked wallabies, possums, bandicoots, the occasional squirrel glider and many varied birds to come and frequent the area around the house by feeding them small snacks of parrot seed on a daily basis. This has been one of the highlights for us and our overseas visitors to Australia and is also popular with our friends' visitors as well. Of course, as we attract birds and animals onto our property, pets are not an acceptable part of the housesit.

Our other requirements are naturally to maintain the house in a good and safe condition, returning it to us in the condition you found it, to water plants, mow the grass around the house, (when necessary), and to continue to feed the animals and birds on a daily basis.

If you enjoy wildlife and think this housesit would suit you, please contact us with your expressions of interest, some details about yourselves and any questions you may have.

Many thanks



Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

oceannova is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners