Dog Sitter on Farm with Alpacas, Vashon Island, WA

House Sitter Needed for Username: VashonFarm   


Posted or Updated: Sep 24,2023   Applications: 2

rural countryside, Vashon Island
King,Washington United States

View location map
From: Aug 23,24  
To:      Sep 6,24
Days:  15, Short Term approximate

I have quite a few responses so far and need to review and digest before accepting new inquiries, but feel free to nudge me if you haven't heard back from me or if you are convinced I should consider you in the mix.  : D

Late August to early September 2024

I need an experienced, animal friendly person who is responsible and conscientious. 

I am looking for someone willing to give my exceedingly cute but bossy small dog the care he needs in my absence.

Should be comfortable with dogs and know how to read their behavior.  He is adorable (11 pounds) and looks like he wants to be snuggled - but on his terms! (think "cat")

He listens to commands when spoken with authority and loves to play.  He is very agile, very smart and sticks close to his protectors, but guards you well from intruders.  He is a pint sized dog with a big personality.

The house is a comfortable old farm house on 3 acres with three alpacas.  I have a tenant on the property in an apartment over the garage and a tenant who lives in the studio on the property who can help with the care of the alpacas as they don't require much attention.  I also have a very trusted worker who comes to do routine maintenance and yardwork whe required.

I am looking for someone who wants a peaceful, rural place to stay in exchange for taking care of the animals and keeping an eye on the house. Utilities and Wi-Fi included. 

Preference given to individuals who are ecologically conscious. The house has a wood stove as well as mini-ductless heaters which also function as air conditioners.  We have city water and are on a septic system.

There is NO television.  We are a NO shoes inside, NO smoking, recycle seriously house.

Vashon has tremendous community spirit and is a very friendly place to live. You might want to look it up on the web.  Town is a mile away and has everything you need without leaving the island by ferry.  I can provide an electric bike for transportation.

Please be a mature, responsible, and self-reliant individual. No emotional chaos or environmental allergies or addictions would be a good fit.    Please understand that we don't encourage people who have young children as there are too many liabilities on this property like an unfenced pond, steep stairs and no child proofing.  Thank you for your consideration.

-- Katrin

p.s.  any gardening experience is a big plus.  The property has beautiful grounds and gardens, especially in spring.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

VashonFarm is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners