Beautiful renovated farmhouse in countryside in Gascony

House Sitter Needed for Username: ledocs2   


Posted or Updated: Aug 17,2014   Applications: 8

Rural, Agen
Gers France

View location map
Dec 12,2014
For 10 weeks | Medium Term

My wife and I have a large single-story, completely restored stone and timber farmhouse. It has central underfloor heating using heating oil, as well as a large wood-burning stove, and is on a beautiful and secluded 2-acre site in the country. There is no commerce within walking distance of the property. Very quiet, especially in the winter. All modern conveniences, good DSL Internet, large flat-screen television with large video collection, good stereo system, and private 5 X 10 meter swimming pool (not relevant for winter housesit but merely an indication that the property enjoys some standing). It is located not too far from Agen but in the neighboring department of the Gers.

We are looking for housesitter(s) from about December 12, 2014 to February 20, There are no specific duties whatever except mail collection, no pets, no gardening. You occupy the house and treat our belongings respectfully. You will be expected to ward off mice. Must be responsible, and must provide own car (non-negotiable). Cost of heating oil to be negotiated, but likely to be between 500 to 1000 euros for the housesitter(s) for the period. We will contribute up to 500 euros for heating oil for the period. We will pay for all other utilities, including satellite TV. This is a beautiful and unspoiled area of France.

The house has about 3,000 square feet of interior living area, as follows: two bedrooms, two full baths, a very large great room that also contains the kitchen, two studies, a TV room, a wine cellar, a laundry room, and an unheated recreational room that is used as a music room, exercise room, and library. In addition, there is a garage, an unimproved attic, and a covered front porch. The house was built with old materials in the early 1980's.

The nearest neighbor is 400 meters away. The property is surrounded by working farmland, and there will not be much farming activity during the winter. The village to which the property belongs legally is three kilometers away. The nearest supermarket is about 10 kilometers away, and bread and other necessities are available about 5 kilometers away.

Last winter, it did not snow where we live. It did snow a bit for the prior three winters, and there is the possibility that one gets snowed in, because the access road to our house will not be treated. This has never been a problem for more than two days during the eight years we have lived here permanently. There can also be considerable fog during the winter, as well as rain. Normal lows for the period are probably 3-5 degrees Celsius, but there are also about ten days per winter of below-freezing temperatures.

We have used housesitters found on this site three times in the past, including one winter and one late-autumn housesit. The successful candidate will be asked to supply references.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

ledocs2 is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners