Semi rural desert living, poultry/garden helper needed

House Sitter Needed for Username: swranchette   


Posted or Updated: Jun 24,2014   Applications: 0

Tucson, Northwest suburbs, Tucson
Arizona United States

View location map
Jul 7,2014
For 3 months or longer | Long Term

I have a hobby poultry farm with chickens and heritage turkeys, some are show birds. Seeking an extraordinarily responsible individual who does not mind the desert heat and sun to help with chores (about 2 hours a day in exchange for living space, electric, water, laundry) while my husband and I are here, which is most of the time, and maintain the gardens and poultry while we are on vacation. Simply put, we cannot take a break with all the birds and the individual would require at least a week’s worth of training in the complexities before I would be comfortable leaving. A stipend can be provided for days we are gone because of the extra work involved. I need someone who can be on the property most of the time, at least in the hotter months. Basic handyman skills are a plus. The main duties are feeding and watering the birds, cleaning out pens, watering plants, pruning, sometimes help with projects.

Ours is a quiet homestead on acreage, very secure. It is on the outskirts of city development, just one mile from Saguaro National Monument West, yet only two miles from a new library and shopping. The area has abundant wildlife and many wild birds and reptiles. We are environmentally oriented, down-to-earth people and seek a like-minded individual. Our property is mostly on solar electric, we recycle everything that can be, and use a composting toilet system. There is an extensive organic vegetable and fruit tree garden and landscape plants which require extra water in the summer and room for you to grow some of your own food. A small guest room with minimalist kitchen and separate bathroom is provided. Electric, water, Internet, and access to washing machine provided. Share in extras from the garden and poultry when possible but board is not a given. Applicant must be non-smoker, no drugs and able to live fragrance-free. You must have your own transportation; the buses do not run out here. Your own financial security is important so that a job does not pull you away from duties here. Because of our own animals, no dogs or cats are allowed. This is an ideal situation for someone who would enjoy spending time with the birds and plants and prefers the lifestyle that we offer. Ideally, we will find a compatible individual who feels like part of the family and wants a long term stay, however medium length (at least 3 months) is acceptable. Preference given to individual who will stay through the hot months and not just the winter since summer is the time we most need help.

This would not be for everyone, but if you want to learn about sustainable living, growing your own food, breeding poultry, there is a lot to learn here.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

swranchette is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners