Looking For Horse Property Sitter

House Sitter Needed for Username: EquineStay   

Save

Posted or Updated: May 12,2019   Applications: 2

Location
Greenville
Floyd County,Indiana United States

View location map
Availability
Oct 2,2019
For House, dogs and cats, and Horse care | Micro Term

This 6.5-acre property is in a rural area about 15 miles NW of Louisville, Kentucky. I'm currently looking for house and pet sitting for about a week at the beginning of October I've used the Housecarers site before, several times, and expect to do the same intermittently in the future. 

I'm looking for a house sitter with experience with horses as well as dogs and cats. I have 2 horses, 2 dogs and 6 cats (2 are indoor/outdoor and 2 are barn cats who've retired to the garage as they are at least 17 years old). The horses and dogs are older animals as well. The horses are both special needs so the most important task with them is to limit their pasture time, use muzzles, and keep the stalls clean as they typically spend 15 hours a day in a dry lot with barn access. Hay, straw and sawdust is provided. They both need to limit their food intake due to their ages (25 and 17) and the younger one is very Laminitus prone. He's an Appaloosa. The other gelding is a tall Tennessee Walker.

Both dogs live in the house (a min poodle mix and an Australian Shepherd). They need to be fed twice a day and let out in the fenced yard at least 3 times a day. They like to go out when I go to the barn. All 4 house cats should be indoors at night (we have coyotes and other night predators), but the two youngest (1-year olds) like to be outside, in good weather, all day. Which is fine by the two 9-year old cats who are exclusively indoor. All 6 cats are fed twice a day and food is also left out at night for 2 youngest ones. There are 4 litter boxes that should be cleaned daily. The Poodle needs a mixture of meds in her two meals. She's 14-years old. The Aussie is 9-years old.

I can provide a furnished room with a private bath as well as the use of the great room (LR, DR and Kit.), a large deck and patio. The house has wireless Internet, the digital television (with antenna), is attached to a CD player and has a cable you can use to attach it to a computer). The kitchen is fully equipped and there is a washer and dryer. 

There are lots of seasonal things to do in this area: cave tours, hiking, skiing; lake boating, fishing, swimming; sightseeing in historic towns along the Ohio River; driving through the beautiful country side (this part of IN is hilly and forested), and all the usual activities a city offers. Louisville Kentucky features horse culture and Churchill Downs tours/museum; independent artist galleries; art, history and science museums; large Olmsted-designed parks, sports stadiums, a great variety of restaurants, colleges, medical research facilities, and riverboat rides on the Ohio. The area just to the east of Louisville is commonly known for whiskey distillery tours and thoroughbred farms. The Indiana side of the river has a wine trail and extensive shopping in New Albany (independently owned) and Clarksville (national chain stores and restaurants).

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact EquineStay
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

EquineStay is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like EquineStay


OR