Short Term From May 9, 2011 For 9-10 days I need pet care for: Cats

House Sitter Needed for Username: ArtistOnTheRoad   


Posted or Updated: May 3,2011   Applications: 3

Lake City, Seattle
Washington United States

View location map
May 9,2011
For 9-10 days | Short Term


I am an artist who will be traveling to a show, May 9th through May 17th or 18th,2011. The dates at the end must remain flexible within 1-2 days.

I live in a former elementary school in Lake City neighborhood of Seattle. I have 2 classrooms here. One is my home (with a small studio area), the other is my main studio Mr.Mustafa, my cat, needs care while I travel to the show. If this setting interests you please read the description below.

I will also be traveling to shows two other times this year- so if you are not free now, but are interested in these dates please let me know.

July 24 - August 3 or 4, and October 14 or 15 - November 12 to 14.

I will be back in touch when I come back from my current show and begin to plan things out for the next.

Thank you and many blessings your way! Meg and Mr.MU

Care of Mr.MU

Do you love cats and would you benefit from staying in a quiet, artistic space?

MU I am seeking a clean, quiet, respectful person to stay with and care for my dear cat. Mr.Mustafa is a loving, affectionate, superstar prince. He is an 11 year old Birman that I found at a shelter 4 years ago. He goes out during most of the day but evenings he must stay in due to cat eating coyotes in the neighborhood. I would keep him in all the time but he is a miserable wretch if he cannot be upon the earth.

Mr.MU is used to me being around most of the time and I am looking for someone who will want to spend a lot of time here, especially at night. (Best if you work from home or are a home body.)

Turns out Birmans are bred to be companion animals, so he will usually want to hang out near you. If you like to write, study, do computer work or engage in some other quiet seated pursuit in the evenings, that would be ideal. He will curl up next to you and keep you company. If you leave him here alone almost all of the time, he may show his displeasure with restless pacing and loud Siamese meows when you return. Most of the time he is a delightful, dignified gentleman. The more affection you dole out the more docile he is. He also enjoys play with strings, feather on a stick etc, but he is a light touch, no-wrestling kind of guy.

SPACE My colorful, cozy place is located in an unusual artist’s community- housed in a former elementary school in Lake City, where artists live and work now. The building is kept very tidy and clean. Mature artists of many sorts have studios and studio/residences here. (Fiber artist, painters, sculptors, ceramic artists, photographers, musicians, writers and more.) It is a unique group of folks mostly in their 40’s and 50’s.

The room itself is very private. You may connect with others here or keep to yourself- but you are expected to be cordial, cooperative and considerate when you cross paths with others. My room is a 900 sq ft classroom with a wall of windows facing east into a shady, green, peaceful, semi-private yard- with lots of birds of all kinds due to 2 neighbors with many feeders. You can access the yard via a climb-out window/door.

I have lived here for 25 years so it is very furnished with a Fiber and Arts perspective.

There is a sink, and basic kitchen set-up in the room.(Refrig, small convection oven, microwave and hotplate)

Shared bathrooms are down the hall- including a private shower room and private tub room. (No bathroom in the room)

Shared Network Internet is available in the room - Wifi or plug in for your computer- (no computer available for your use)

Land line phone with unlimited US and Canadian Long Distance

Free laundry in shared Laundry Room across the hall

Old but fine TV with local channels/VCR/ DVD

DUTIES You will need to come to meet MU and me and see the place. It might be possible to decide this over the phone if travel makes this difficult, but I think it is best. Then, if we both want to go ahead with it, you will definitely need to come again the week before I leave for about 1-2 hours to go over specifics of the space, details on the workings of the building and care of Mr.Mustafa.

Due to health concerns, Mustafa cannot eat dry food so you will be feeding wet food several times a day. I supply all the food and it will be here. He uses the litter box about half of the time so daily scooping is required. He does not have a cat door so you have to let him in and out multiple times during the day. If you will be gone for more than 4-5 hours he needs to be kept inside.

I'd appreciate it if you can collect my mail just from across the hall. It’s possible, though not likely, that I may need you to mail something for me, or do some other small unforeseen task. I will be reachable by cell if you have any questions or issues. Others in the building are always willing to help if you need anything.

References required. $100 damage deposit, which will be returned in full if all is well upon my return.

IMPORTANT NOTE and this is a BIG one

I have multiple chemical sensitivities which I developed over the years from exposure to art materials, etc... If you are sensitive yourself or have known family or friends who have this trouble you will likely understand. You must agree to absolutely NO perfumes in my space- or heavily scented personal products- both chemical and essential oils, scented candles, air fresheners, incense, aroma therapy, strong cleaning chemicals or detergents, clothes washed in scented detergents or scented fabric softeners… And on and on- you get the idea.

Most unscented or fragrance free products are just fine. Just because it is “natural” doesn’t mean it will work though, as many of these are highly scented. I can give you suggestions if you are not familiar with this concept. There are several other people in the building who are sensitive too so we work to keep the air clean for everyone here.


If you can make it through all that then maybe you are the one- thanks!

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

ArtistOnTheRoad is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners