Spend the Winter in Beautiful, Secluded Pocono Home with 2 Felines

House Sitter Needed for Username: Susan77   


Posted or Updated: Nov 6,2013   Applications: 4

Northeastern Pennsylvania, Canadensis
Pennsylvania United States

View location map
Dec 18,2013
For 15 weeks | Long Term

Our house is in very quiet, secluded, woodsy area. Skiing, hiking, horseback riding & other activities are nearby, as are many antique shops & historical attractions. We are 1/2 hour from Camelback Mountain and Promised Land State Park, 6 miles from the famous Skytop resort. Good restaurants in the area, from casual to upscale. Perfect for writer, musician, work-at-home people who like peace & solitude, and LOVE cats. The deer come through the property every day, as do other wildlife such as wild turkey, rabbits, the occasional bear. There is no hunting allowed in the development.

FEATURES: There is a generator in case of power outage, wood stoves upstairs and downstairs, high speed internet, wifi, cable TV, book & music (jazz & classical) & film libraries, electric piano, drumset, free weight gym, sauna, sun room, master bath has soaking tub, master br has king bed & cathedral ceiling. House is on 2.75 acres, stream at bottom of property bordering state game lands. Stores & services in the next town, 20 min. drive. Entertainment 1/2 hour away (movies, top jazz club, theater, etc.) Visitors to our house remark on the "good feeling" it has!

RESPONSIBILITIES: 1 cat gets meds in food 2x per day and gets subQ fluids injected daily (it's easy.) The other gets subQ fluids every 2 or 3 days. Fresh water & food daily, clean litter box. Please trim nails as needed . Please keep home clean & tidy, water plants as needed. Please be in touch with us weekly or more often, via e mail and .

REQUIREMENTS: No small children as our house is not child-proof. If you have a dog of your own who is very mellow and used to cats (and will leave them alone), that will be fine. You should like reading or music or films because that is the entertainment in the house! We are leaving on Dec. 20, 2013 and returning April 3, Please be here 2 or 3 days before we leave, so we can show you the ropes & you can meet the cats. They are 16 years old and litter sisters.

FINANCES: We will pay the high speed internet, cable TV, snow removal and trash collection bills. There's no water bill, it's well water. We would ask you to please pay for any long distance calls you make on the landline. What we normally do is pay the first $300 of the electric heating bill (for main floor). If you're going to turn the heat up we would ask you to please cover the bill after the initial $300 per month; oil heat downstairs can stay on minimum while you're here (We pay that). You can also heat either part of the house by wood stove, which costs nothing. There is plenty of pre-cut & seasoned wood stacked outside. The house is 13 rooms but some you won't be using & heat can be off. Can you drive a stick? We will loan you a Subaru Baja (with snow tires on) for driving while you're here. It's a big house; our housecleaners will come once a month, we will pay for that also.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

Susan77 is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners