Old English Sheepdog needs company in rural France

House Sitter Needed for Username: Gessenaa   


Posted or Updated: Jan 2,2014   Applications: 12

Lavenay, Le Mans
Loir France

View location map
Jan 15,2014
For 2 months | Short Medium Term

In France, in idyllic countryside there is a beautiful house in which an American artist lives with her Old English Sheepdog. There are beautiful views, deer, rabbits, pheasants, and days often go by without a human in sight. The closest village with a grocery shop is a mile away, and a supermarket with a gas station is a 5-mile drive. It is perfect for someone who is not afraid of solitude, and who values quiet air over the urban charm.

We (Artist and Dog) don't like to separate and have traveled all over Europe together, but for the overseas trips the Dog has to stay behind. We are looking for someone who would be willing to make our separation less painful.

The house is fully furnished and equipped with the modern necessities, there is the high speed Wi-Fi, , books to read in several languages, but no TV. (There is a collection of good films to watch, and an easy way to download many more).

There are nice villages around, but one has to drive there. So a big and reliable sport utility vehicle is the third companion, and stays together with the Dog.

There is nothing more to do in the area in winter. So one can either rest here or write or draw or do any work that can be done via Internet. There are very few neighbors, so it is not a place for someone who wants to improve his French.

The house is comfortable, but not warm. I have to sleep in my sweatshirt and pants. There is a fireplace, but it is not too big, so one has to be at home to keep the house livable. There are towel heaters in the bathrooms, a wall heater in the TV room, and a portable heater.

The Dog is five and has quite a personality. He is friendly, but with great respect for personal property. He doesn't need to go out early in the morning, but he likes to be talked to. He likes Debussy and Beethoven. He is well behaved, doesn't sleep on a bed or climb on a chair, but he brings a ball and likes to play. He doesn't steal from the table, but he believes in equality, and if one has a snack, one has to share - not necessarily the same food. He doesn't like to stay at home alone, but he waits in the car for his companion when it is needed. He needs to be brushed, which he doesn't mind but doesn't particularly enjoy, so you must know how to handle dogs.

The Dog is the Beautiful One. It is not easy to walk with him in a city where people are emotional and want to touch and hug him all the time. The Dog began to consider unwanted attention of this kind a harassment and tries to avoid it. He doesn't lick people but he appreciates the back and even the belly scratching done by an accepted friend but I try to keep nosy strangers more than at arm's length.

He is not well from time to time, but we have learned to overcome it without a veterinarian using the homeopathic remedies. A few years ago he was very ill, and was treated by a reiki specialist and by an acupuncturist. So, it is in a way an alternative kind of a dog. When he is well, he is in perfect health but needs a good diet, and no antibiotics.

All in all, if there is a person who would like to come here and take my place, and enjoy being here with my dog, I would be very happy and I would leave for a month and a half or even for two months and go on my travels.

I would like to leave quite soon, around the middle of January, and I am flexible with my dates. When I return, provided you and the dog get along, you possibly can stay on if you would like. We can work out an arrangement.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

Gessenaa is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners