House/Petsitter needed in Washington DC

House Sitter Needed for Username: traveler35   


Posted or Updated: Aug 3,2016   Applications: 9

Brookland, Northeast, Washington
District of Columbia United States

View location map
Aug 13,2016
For 04/30/2017 | Long Term

I am in the Foregn service serving in Pakistan on a one-year assignment which ends April .  I am seeking a mature, responsible, easy-going person who loves cats and has experience caring for cats to live in my home in Washington DC and take care of my five cats and one semi-feral who lives outside, from August 13, 2016  to April 30, 2017. 

I live in the Brookland neighborhood of NE DC. My three-story rowhouse is 10 minutes from the red line metro stop, close to all of Washington’s main attractions. I am 5 minutes from Catholic University, 8 minutes from Washington Hospital Center, and just a few stops on the train from Capitol Hill, the National Mall, museums and monuments. The house has off- street parking, wi fi, cable TV, laundry, and lots of urban amenities nearby.  I have a tenant who lives in the basement apartment and works long hours. He will coordinate house/cat care if you want to go away for a weekend or vacation. The house- and pet-sitter will have the entire upstairs floor, which has two bedrooms, two offices/dens, and a bathroom. I have friendly, caring neighbors. My sister lives nearby and spends a couple of nights a week in the house, and will share cat care if needed. 

I need someone who is experienced with caring for cats and a house and who is willing to communicate with me via on general cat care and household matters. Food shipments and litter arrive monthly but the caretaker will need to feed the cats twice a day and clean the litter boxes once a day. The entire routine takes no more than 15 minutes twice a day. I want someone who also loves and enjoys cats, as mine are very affectionate and are accustomed to curling up with me at bedtime or when I’m reading on the couch.

This is a great opportunity for someone who wants to save some money, have a quiet place to write or work, be close to downtown, and enjoy what Washington DC has to offer. I would like a non-smoker who doesn’t drink to excess or have parties in the house.

If you are interested, please contact me as soon as possible. I need someone here by the weekend of April 13 ideally.

Thanks for your attention.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

traveler35 is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners