Long term; Experience small town Southern Hospitality

House Sitter Needed for Username: akleine   

Save

Posted or Updated: Feb 8,2019   Applications: 4

Location
rural town, Winnsboro
Fairfield,South Carolina United States

View location map
Availability
Jun 1,2019
For 12-20-2019 | Long Term

We are looking for a couple or capable single to care for our home, yard, gardens  and occasionally our dog Frankie, a 9yo Havanese. Our home is in Winnsboro, SC, a quintessential Southern town. Winnsboro is a small rural town about 30 miles north of Columbia, SC & 70 miles south of Charlotte, NC. Founded in the 1700's its rich history and quaint antebellum homes add to its charm. But not unlike many small towns in the past few decades, its population decreased after local jobs were sent overseas & homes were left vacant. We are beginning to see  revitalzation.

We have chosen this community for its small town friendly atmosphere and tackled a major renovation of a stone cottage styled house built in 1937 from Winnsboro Blue Granite...also the SC State stone! We received  the 2017 William Banks Patrick award from The Fairfield County Historical Society for our "Sensitive and Compatible Addition" to the property.

Centrally located we are a ~3hr drive to the SC Beaches and the Mountains of SC & NC. Speaking about Mountains. That is the reason for this house sitting opportunity. Anne will be staying at our cottages  in the North Carolina Mountains while Larry will be in Montana helping a friend build his cabin. Our starting date June 1 is flexible and will need to go to December 20. Frankie will be with Anne most of the time; however we have a trip planned for +2 weeks in December and Frankie's would be staying with you. 

 A little about us. Larry (72) is a retired residential building inspector & former home builder. Anne (71) is a RN (and still working!) works from home as a telephonic case manager.

You will have full use of the house. Kitchen fit for a gourmet cook, laundry, etc. There are 2 master suites  on the main floor. A 3rd is being finished upstairs.

NO SMOKING allowed.  High speed wireless & hard wired Internet are in the home as is Cable TV & fax/landline.

You will be responsible for  keeping the house tidy and clean, watering house plants, tending lawn & gardens and all of your utilities.  We will reimburse up to $100/month towards water during the hot summer months r/t yard watering. We have a riding zero turn mower, all lawn & garden care tools & lawn fertilizing service. Most gardens are raised beds. Enjoy growing  your own veggies & salad greens if you choose. We compost and are as organic as possible in the vegetable beds.

This perfect housesit for a "Green Thumb Neat Nik" :) 

Our place in the mountains is a  3 1/2 hr drive; so Anne will be close enough to handle any major problems or issues if they arise; Larry available by  .

You will  need your own transportation; there is no public transportation locally. 

If you think this could be a compatible house sit opportunity we look forward to hearing from you.

Anne & Larry

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

akleine is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR