House sitter required for 22 days February 2019, for 3 cats in the South of France

House Sitter Needed for Username: amcinfrance   


Posted or Updated: Nov 30,2018   Applications: 5

Countryside, Nr Carcassonne
Aude,Languedoc Roussillon France

View location map
Feb 6,2019
For 22 days | Short Medium Term

We are looking for someone to look after our 3 cats.  He/She or they must be reliable, and confident enough to care for a home.  Some French language would be useful, but not essential.

One cat uses a litter tray which needs cleaning every time it is used.  She needs to be fed 3 or 4 small meals each day as she is 21+ and given medicine every 4 days.  (It goes in the food)  The second cat lives outside mostly but needs food put out twice a day.  The third one comes and goes as she pleases, rattles the food bowl when she wants feeding and likes a teaspoonful of creme fraiche for breakfast.

They all like to eat at about 7.30am.  All but the elderly cat, Maya, use the cat door, Maya likes to be in the garden if warm and to toilet out there.  The cat door is in the downstairs ensuite, so the bedroom door needs to be left ajar.

The house is modern, well insulated, added to a smaller barn which was built in the 1930's. There is a garden with garden shed, wood store and linen line. There are 2 bedrooms, one of which is available for the sitter(s).  The bedroom is ensuite.  

The property is easy to look after.  There is a wood burner for heating the lounge, with electric fires for the kitchen, bathroom and downstairs bedroom.  Hot water is from an electric boiler.

There is mains electricity and WIFI, mobile signal is OK.  House is on mains drainage.

There is a generator for use should the power supply fail in heavy rain.  It is only use is to power the pumps used to avoid flooding as we are on a bit of a slope.

There is satellite TV in the lounge, as well as in the kitchen.  There is a utility room with washing machine and freezer. 

There is a car available.

You must be happy to live in a relatively small village, nearest neighbours French but we have English speaking friends should you need help/advice. Heating by wood burner and electricity. The next village to us, about 1.5 km, has a bread shop, post office, epicerie and butcher as well as a restaurant/bar.  The nearest supermarket is 15 km.

We live in an area known for its wine, scenery and Cathar castles so there is plenty to see and do, with lots of opportunities to try different types of wine.

The start date posted is a day before we leave, and the end date is the day after we return.  This can be flexible to a degree, depending on the sitters onward travel arrangements.

Applications by please.  References will be required as well as proof of driving licence.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

amcinfrance is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners