Approximately 7 week house/pet sit in Santa Fe, NM, Dogs only

House Sitter Needed for Username: Luna999_   


Posted or Updated: May 18,2015   Applications: 0

Foothills, Santa Fe
Santa Fe,New Mexico United States

View location map
May 18,2015
For About a 7 weeks, dates somewhat flexible | Medium Term

I am a strict vegan and require a sitter who is at least vegetarian, and will not bring any meat, fish, or chicken into my home. My dogs are also happy, healthy vegans. If you are not able or willing to abide by the dietary restrictions that come with this house sit, please don't respond to this ad.

My house is 2000+ square feet, and sits on a wooded hill on 3 acres. It is quiet and private and has some lovely views. . Currently there is one updated bathroom with a tub and shower, as the master is slowly being remodeled. The house is nicely furnished but not fancy. There are 3 bedrooms, and a nice kitchen. There is a fireplace in the living room. My house is multi level and you must be ok navigating a few staircases, including 13 wide steps up to the front door.

My smooth collie is 9 years old and weighs about 50 lbs and needs help getting into the car, though not because of any physical issue. She spent her first several years in a pen and did not learn to navigate cars or staircases as a younger dog. She's ok with stairs now. To get her into the back of my SUV, I put her front paws inside, then pick up her rear end and she scrambles in. She is very compliant, and even helps, but will not initiate more than standing near the back of the car. She is a very sweet, gentle, and loving dog.

Both my dogs are rescues.

My rambunctious sheltie is 4 years old. She is a great ball retriever, and considers running and fetching her job. Both dogs have an active social life at the dog park. While my sheltie is a happy and sweet girl she likes to assert herself with dogs that get in her space ("I'm tough, so you better not mess with me!"), and she barks at people she doesn't know, especially if they insist on interacting with her when she isn't sure about them. She's very pretty, so people are drawn to her. It will likely take a few days for her to feel entirely comfortable with a new house sitter, but once she is, she's a flirt. She will sometimes bring her ball to a stranger, drop it in front of them and bark for them to throw it for her. She's a smart girl who knows what she wants! At home she is quiet, well behaved and playful,except for initially announcing herself when she goes out in the morning, or if it's dark outside. She does like to bark at the dog park, especially when herding other dogs. Both dogs love to do tricks for treats.

I live on a circle that is just under a mile around and is great to walk the dogs on. My driveway is gated. The dogs should be walked at least once a day, twice if they don't go to the park.

Santa Fe is a great town and the house is in a wonderful location, though it is not walking distance to the city. The house is located in a semi rural area Southeast of town and is about 6 miles from the Santa Fe Plaza. There are three good restaurants within a 5 minute drive from the house.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

Luna999_ is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners