Pet sitter needed for our dog and some ducks

House Sitter Needed for Username: thegoodlife   

Verified Save

Posted or Updated: Apr 1,2021   Applications: 1

Location
South West, Rockie Mountains, rural, Nucla
Montrose,Colorado United States

View location map
Availability
Aug 30,2021
For 6 weeks | Short Medium Term

We need a housesitter for about six weeks from the end of August/beginning of Sep, arriving a few days before we leave so that we have time to go over the routines and house facilities.

We have one dog, Wally, a Catahoula. He is 3 years old, well-behaved, very affectionate – he loves attention - and energetic. He likes to spend time during the day outside (weather permitting) in his fenced yard, where he contemplates the world while lying on our picnic table (his favorite spot). He has an off-leash run for at least an hour every day: we usually take him in the late afternoon or evening, depending on the time of year, and he’s happy to go out for extra walks at any time. A short drive takes us out of town and onto quiet public trails where he can run to his heart’s content. Sometimes he gets involved in exploring over a wide area and doesn’t come back to the vehicle at the same time as us, which means a wait until he returns. An occasional roll in cowpats is pretty much his only other fault, although he does bark emphatically at anyone who comes to the door, sporadically at any deer that wander through, and ineffectively at next door’s cat when she has the audacity to walk into our yard.

We also have 11 ducks. They are let out every morning, with a snack and a top-up of their drinking water provided. Their eggs are collected, and their straw bedding fluffed up. They happily splash in the pond and roam the pasture, occupying themselves with duck activities during the day, and they are secured in their house at night with a snack and fresh drinking water. Their food, grit and shell supplies are topped up as needed. They are very entertaining: if the weather is nice, a pleasant time can be had sitting outside to read a book while watching their antics.

We have a large vegetable garden which, although it will be towards the end of the growing season, will need to be maintained and any produce gathered. 

Our house is comfortable and quiet, on just over 3 acres, and set back from the road in our very small, remote town in the southwest mountains of Colorado. House sitter/s will have their own room and shower room. We have good wifi.

Although we don't have the amenities of a big town, we are surrounded by public lands of outstanding natural beauty with plenty of walking, hiking and cycling trails within a short drive from home.

The nearest towns of any size are about 100 miles away. Most of our local shops and facilities are within walking distance, but there is no public transport available here for going further afield.

The Visitors Center (5 miles away) provides an excellent service for anyone interested in finding out more about the local area.

Three National Parks are each within 2.5 hours drive: Canyonlands, Arches and Mesa Verde. We are hours drive from Telluride ski resort and from Moab (Utah) which is a center for outdoor recreation.

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

thegoodlife is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR