Possible long term house sitter, 9 to 10 months

House Sitter Needed for Username: meriwether   


Posted or Updated: May 18,2015   Applications: 13

West end Toledo Metro Area, Toledo
Lucas,Ohio United States

View location map
Aug 17,2015
For 9 to 10 months or less | Long Term

I may be doing an extended bicycle tour around the perimeter of the U.S. as a fundraiser for two charitable groups that do good work: Habitat For Humanity and Save The Children. I am looking for a very responsible house sitter for a period that could last from 9 to 10 months or less starting approximately August of If you would like to find out more about my plans for this trip, just do a search for "usperimeterride".

Responsibilites: Of course taking care of the house, but it is also a fairly good size property, so will need someone who enjoys a bit of yard work, snow blowing, and such. I maintain my property in excellent condition, so would like someone who would be willing to help with that while I am gone - someone very responsible, dependable, and who has some home maintenance skills and who can enjoy and take care of my home if I should undertake this venture.

Features of the Area: I am in the suburbs of Toledo, Ohio, in a very nice ranch home, completely remodeled in It is a rural, wooded lot with a wonderful backyard patio. Landscape lighting front and back highlights the house at night. You are one minute from the countryside, while at the same time on the edge of the metro Toledo area with all the conveniences and shopping. Two supermarkets, Krogers and Meijers are within a minute's drive, or easily walkable. Toledo is known for its wonderful zoo, the Toledo Museum of Art (rated one of the best in the country), and of course it is at the western end of Lake Erie and less than an hour's drive from the Lake Erie Islands, a summer time recreation and resort area.

Special Considerations: I had planned to do this ride in 2013 or 2014, but health issues intervened. One of those issues was a right hip replacement last August. Although I have done a number of long distance bicycle tours over the years, at age 65 and with the health issues, I do have some concerns regarding undertaking such a rigorous and extended tour. If for some reason I had to call a halt to the tour, I would need a house sitter who, within a month's time, would be prepared to move on to another situation or have a place to return to. I mention this because I have learned from this site and others that a number of house sitters go from assignment to assignment without a home base, depending on their next assignment for their living accommodations. That may not be the best fit for my situation. This is something that we can discuss.

Note: the dates listed for assignment are approximate. Start time would be sometime during the last couple weeks of August 2015, and if the tour went the distance, could last from 9 or 10 months.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

meriwether is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners