Long Term Sit for 3 Parrots, 2 dogs, 1 cat, 6 fish starting June 28

House Sitter Needed for Username: Corky1   


Posted or Updated: Jun 13,2015   Applications: 1

Myrtle Creek & Roseburg
Douglas,Oregon United States

View location map
Jun 28,2015
For Beautiful location. Modest country home secluded b | Long Term

Beautiful location. Modest country home secluded but only 3 miles from interstate, 10 miles from town.

A long term sit. Listed for 7 months, but could go on for a year or more. Homeowners are caring for ill parent in another state--difficult to predict.

If you love love nature & animals this could be the match for you! It's secluded, so be sure you like being at a quiet place.

Also, due to potential danger, we are not considering sitters with dogs or cats or kids though. The rattlesnakes outside are too dangerous for kids & this house has enough pets.

The house is on over 115 acres of beautiful hill country. Private gate with no neighbors in view. Modern with 2 bathrooms, large living room, great kitchen, lots of windows looking out on vast scenery.

It's about 1 mile up a winding dirt road, about 3 miles total from the Interstate (I-5, exit 113) & just another 10 minutes to downtown Roseburg, a town of 25K. In range of Verizon & Sprint cell towers.

The house is furnished, has a landline with DSL Wireless Internet, satellite cable television, heating and air conditioning, full kitchen with dishwasher. Utilities paid by owner. Trash & recycling you take to the transfer station 4 miles to the South; free drop off.

Plumbing is piped spring water, good for all but drinking. Fill our containers with filtered drinking water for 25 cents a gallon when getting groceries in town.

Now to the animals! This is a big responsibility & why this is not just a rental. There are 3 birds, 2 dogs, 1 cat & 6 fish. All need love and care.

Two African Grey parrots talk. Nibbles will greet you with "Good Morning." Corky asks "What are you doing?" They love music, whistling, talking, & watching stupid human tricks. Tweety the parakeet bursts into song a couple times a day.

Grandpa is an old Blue Healer who pretty much stays by the house these days. Bones is a Great Dane/Black Lab mix who can only run free when the snakes are hibernating. Both dogs are very attentive. Bones is big, puppy like & 8 years old. They love being pet, hugged & given treats.

Chinny the cat cuddles & will probably prefer to sleep on bed with you. The fish swim in circles.

These animals need daily food & tap water (paid for by homeowner). And treats! Dogs need bathroom breaks regularly.

The pets are all indoor pets in the summer, because of the rattle snakes. We lost our Great Pyrenees last year to a snake bite on the tongue. You need to lookout for snakes, & be willing to kill or relocate them.

You need to scan for snakes before taking the dogs to the enclosed pen to do their business. In the winter they can be let out unsupervised.

Chores: Cleaning the bird cages the kitty litter box, & shoveling the dog poop from the pen every few days. This keeps everybody healthy and smelling better. Other than that, it's sit back, relax, & love where you are!

This is a really beautiful place to house sit. The air is fresh. It's sunny & warm in the summer & will be more wet in the fall/winter. Tons of outdoor adventure opportunities, and the Roseburg has what you need.

Prefer people who work from home so the animals get lots of love. Idea for a couple where one person works out of the house, one from home.

We will answer all inquires. Tell us why you are a good match. We check references & do a criminal record check.

More info upon request. Hope to hear from you ASAP!

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

Corky1 is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners