4-month dog sit for 10 year-old female lab, Petersburg Virginia, September-December

House Sitter Needed for Username: LocationIndep   

Verified Save

Posted or Updated: Jul 3,2023   Applications: 0

City Suburbs, Petersburg
Virginia United States

View location map
From: Aug 28,23  
To:      Dec 31,23
Days:  126, Long Term Dates flexible: end-Aug. to late Dec. / early Jan.

I will be overseas early September through approximately year-end, and am looking for an experienced individual or couple interested in staying in a 100 year-old home in a historic district in Petersburg, Virginia and caring for my 10 year-old female dog Ginger (lab mix, 45 lbs) over that duration. I'd need you to arrive late August, date flexible. End of sit could be late December into early January, I have some flexibility with end date. Ideal sitter likes a quiet environment, and is retired or "works from home", e.g., an arist or writer. No children, no smokers please.

Petersburg is a small city approximately 25 minutes south of the state's capital of Richmond, which has a great food and arts scene. Petersburg is 10 minutes to Fort Gregg-Adams (formerly Fort Lee), 5 to 10 minutes to the hiking/bicycling trails at Petersburg National Battlefield depending on entrance, and 30 minutes to Pocahontas State Park. To the east, Petersburg is 1 hour to colonial Williamsburg, 1.5 hours to Yorktown (important site in Revolutionary War), and 2 hours to the Virginia coast (e.g., Virginia Beach, First Landing State Park). To the west, Petersburg is 1.5 hours to Charlottesville and 2.5-3 hours to loads of parks and trails in the Blue Ridge mountains.  Long/short -- much to explore in the region! 

I've been updating my home over several years. New electric, plumbing, water heater, appliances, and such. All bedrooms and bathrooms are upstairs. One bathroom features an original cast iron tub, the other features a tile and glass walk-in shower. I recently converted an open-air porch into a sunroom/reading room. The home has a monitored alarm system. The back yard is large and fully enclosed with a new fence, with grill, table, seating, and fire pit; landscaping is rising toward the top of the to-do list but has not yet happened, so for the moment remains "blank slate".

I have a mower that comes by twice a month, so no yard duties. I have a few house plants that aren't particularly fussy. My main interest is in your keeping a general eye on the house (if anything comes up, let me know and I can send an appropriate team over) and caring for my dog Ginger in my absence. I do not walk Ginger in my neighborhood, but instead take her into the Battlefield trails a few times a week and out on daytrip hikes a few times a month. She loves roadtrips and camping (tent or cabin). She is not a picky eater (she is all lab in that sense) but she does have a sensitive stomach, so I have food that works for her shipped to the house twice a month. I have a pretty quiet house. She is a gentle soul that is super relaxed/quiet at home. She must be on leash when off the property, as she will "head for the hills" if off leash and can be exuberant in greeting new-to-her people/animals (all lab in that sense too).  

I got rid of my TV many moons ago, as I tend to stream movies / TV shows on my laptop or read, so no TV but the wifi is solid. :)  

A vehicle is essential, as there is little public transport to speak of in the area. I have an off-street driveway where you could park. If you have a small-ish car, you could potentially also park in the garage. (I have a small carport where I'll be leaving my car. I could potentially put my car in the garage and open the carport slot for you, but the carport is narrow with little head clearance, so may not work for all vehicles. In any case, I'm willing to discuss.)

I look forward to discussing the house / dog sit with you.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

LocationIndep is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners