Come enjoy the best weather in Australia! Our beaches are pristine, the fish bite, the wine excellent, whales are migrating in Port Macquarie, NSW

House Sitter Needed for Username: Am3l81   


Posted or Updated: Aug 1,2017   Applications: 0

Crosslands, Wauchope, Port Macquarie
NSW Australia

View location map
Sep 25,2017
For 11 days until 6 October 2017 | Short Term

We are a professional, retired couple who live in a lovely home in a quiet estate surrounded by farmland, yet in town. Because we like to travel the world, we would like to share our fantastic year-round good weather with a house-sit couple who loves dogs and to relax close to nature. It is not unusual to hear cows lowing at night and owls in the many trees nearby.

We share our home with two delightful and friendly, well-trained dogs - Thembi, a three-year-old Rhodesian Ridgeback girl, and Rocket, a one-year-old Whippet boy - both sighthounds with a desire to chase fluffy things on walks, hence the need for a couple. They are both placid, loving and very well socialised with dogs and people. Both need little maintenance, being short-haired, non-smelly dogs. The are very healthy and on no medication, but should they need some, would take it without any fuss.

Our house:

Modern, single level home on 1/4 acre stand with a beautiful garden;

Lovely, safe estate;

High speed broadband and WiFi;

Excellent mobile reception;

Modern appliances

Close to:

Amenities and public transport;

The best beaches on the mid-north coast;

Excellent vineyards with restaurants and jazz performances'

Outstanding restaurants and taverns;

Fishing, surfing, boating and dreamboat cruises;

Walk-, bike- or hiking trails abound;

Whale watching;

Historical Timbertown speciality museum;

Billabong Zoo's unique wildlife;

Only Koala Rehabilitation Hospital in Australia;

State Forests;

Glasshouse Performing Arts Theatre for expressive public art and exotic enhibitions;

Convict buildings and ancient Aboriginal land

Best of all is our clean air and relaxed life-style to enjoy the best of the region.

Our two companions need a daily walk, either in the estate, or accompany you exploring our beautiful mid-north coast area. There is something to do and see for any age, whether it's fishing, sailing, dancing, going to a show, walking, visiting historical sites, vineyards, laze on one of the many spotless beaches, or walk the convic heritage trail in an area where people are friendly.

A car can be provided for local travel to sitters who can provide a clean driver's license or passport, as well as signing an agreement to cover the insurance excess, should you be involved in an acident (around A$500). Our pets are used to us being at home most of the time, and although we don't expect a house-sitter to be here 24/7, a sitter would have to take into account that Thembi and Rocket can't be left at home by themselves the whole day, and need quality attention before going out and on your return. Both travel well and don't get car-sick.

Please have a look at comments on our profile from house-owners and house-sitters, most of whom have become close friends. Our most recent housesitter commented:

"Having visited many of Australia's 'highlights' like Sydney, the Blue Mountains, Melbourne, the Great Ocean Road and Tasmania, we were surprised that we liked (actually loved!) the area of Port Macquarie/Wauchope as much as any of these well-known locations. With so much to enjoy along the beach (views, water sports, fascinating tidal pools, rugged and dramatic coastline, history of the area), the nearby one-of-a-kind Koala Rehab Hospital, and the local Billabong Zoo, our time was a perfect mix of relaxing and entertaining. We highly recommend this area, home and pets!"

It would be our pleasure to welcome you to our home, and hope you will consider spending time in this most beautiful part of Australia.

*Please do not apply if:

You're not a couple;

Don't have experience with big dogs;

Don't have good, recent references and photos;

You smoke

Rosponsibilities & Pets:

Provide the best quality care two loving dogs deserve;

Take them for a 40 minute walk once a day;

Two feeds per day with treats in-between;

Regular updates/photos of pets;

Keep our home in the tidy state you found it;

Water plants as needed and mow lawn when necessary (ride-on mower);

Use our appliances with care;

Follow the pet/home manual rules (not cumbersome)

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

Am3l81 is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners