Loving gardening care in exchange for lodging

House Sitter Needed for Username: GoddessGarden   


Posted or Updated: May 21,2016   Applications: 8

Santa Fe
Santa Fe,New Mexico United States

View location map
May 25,2016
For Indefinite. 4 month minimum. | Long Term

Housing trade and part time job: I am looking for one person who would be delighted to live in the rural beauty and rustic charm here at the Garden of the Goddess Retreat Center, participate in a work trade for housing and assist with maintaining the rentals for a fee. The trade responsibility is grounds keeping, ie, planting and maintaining the garden areas and trimming and watering trees. This consists of daily watering of the garden in the summer/fall including weeding, clipping, raking, planting, etc keeping the fountain clean and walkways swept. In the winter, the garden needs to be put to sleep and then tasks can vary. Trees need to be watered twice a week in the summer. Certain plants and trees need to be watered once every two weeks in the winter. (Summer tasks can average 2 hours per day though the winter is much slower and may include other agreed upon responsibilities.) Other tasks such as help with lifting, including carrying groceries, filling and carrying water jugs, collecting garbage and taking to the road are necessary. For my part, I am offering an attractive restyled, adobe covered, furnished 23 foot antique air-stream trailer for housing. There is a propane heater and fan. There are separate sitting and sleeping areas in the trailer but no plumbing facilities. A community kitchen and separate baths are located in a nearby building, a lovely yurt and deck are often available for day use (you supply the wood for heat.)
I am usually gone at least two weeks a month and am delighted to offer a room in my house during my absence. I would prefer someone who is willing to help manage and greet guests (when I am not here) for the 2 rentals on the property and happy to maintain the buildings and clean after guests for payment through PayPal. In the warmer months the rental is quite active. But there is minimal traffic in the winter.
I am not looking for more than one person as the private living space is too small to accommodate more than one. Drugs are not welcome!!! I am open to a good natured pet. There is a possibility of personal mentoring in the Toltec wisdom tradition for trade. Please respond and WRITE ME ABOUT YOUR SITUATION AND EXPERIENCE with gardening and cleaning and other qualifications you may have and LET ME KNOW about availability. I will need to see a PICTURE of you (and any pets) with your first inquiry to show you are who you say you are. Preference will be given to someone who is willing to stay on the property WHEN I AM TRAVELING. Internet is available. The tenant is responsible for their personal utilities/propane. Thanks!!! The position is currently available.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

GoddessGarden is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners