Spend 6-12 weeks in the Chicago suburb that Frank Lloyd Wright called home

House Sitter Needed for Username: suburbChicago2dogs   


Posted or Updated: Jan 2,2017   Applications: 8

Oak Park, near west suburb, Chicago
Cook,Illinois United States

View location map
Feb 4,2017
For 6-12 weeks | Micro Term

We are taking a much-needed sabbatical to Central America and need someone to live in our 3-bedroom home in Oak Park (a suburb just west of Chicago) and care for our 2 dogs while we are away.  One of our dogs is 18+ years old, so you will need to keep an eye on him and call my 26-year-old son in Chicago if it seems the old dog needs attention.  Our dogs are not very big (25 and 40 lbs) and are silly and friendly and will do anything for a biscuit.  They are usually allowed only in the kitchen and not the rest of the house.  They can live on our insulated back porch if the weather is warm enough.  We do have "dog doors" and a fenced yard, so no need to walk them unless you want the exercise.

Our two-story, 1,500 sq foot house was built in 1923 and has the usual amenities -- central heat, 3 bedrooms plus basement room, 2 bathrooms (basement and 2nd floor), wifi, TVs, dishwasher, washer/dryer, etc.  Floors are hardwood.  Nearly everything you need is within walking distance -- grocery store, public transportation ("Elevated" train to and from Chicago), pharmacy, parks, school, etc.  Oak Park is home to the 1910 studio of famed architect Frank Lloyd Wright and the Ernest Hemingway museum and home, which are open for tours, if you're into that.  Good local libraries, book stores, antique shops, restaurants, craft beer establishments and an active popular music venue 3-4 blocks away.  Downtown Chicago is a 20-minute train ride away (about 30 min by car) and offers some of the best symphony orchestra, opera and theatre performances in the world.  The homes on our block are somewhat close to each other and so there is an urban feel.  Our neighbors are very friendly.  The young families living on either  side of us are both expecting babies early in 2017, so they will be home a lot.

We were granted a 6-12 week sabbatical but exact length is unsure at this point due to some arrangements we are still trying to make in our destination country.  Will know more soon!  One note: PLEASE NO SMOKING.  

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

suburbChicago2dogs is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners