House Sitter for Smallholding of small 7 acre plot & pet livestock!

House Sitter Needed for Username: Sheepmum22   


Posted or Updated: Sep 15,2017   Applications: 10

Nr Blackdown hills, Wellington
Somerset,West Country England

View location map
May 13,2018
For 4 weeks | Short Medium Term

We are looking for the right person or couple to look after our small menagerie of thirteen sheep, three pigs & one cat on our smallholding.

Daily tasks will entail checking on the animals twice a day & providing food & access to clean water as per their normal routine.

We plan to re-start a flock of chickens & add 3 alpacas to our Therapy Animals* (-to be explained via or other such medium if interested!), but not until after we return from our trip abroad.

There are front, back gardens & a vegi patch (all quite modest in size) to be maintained & watered but we are quite new to the gardening & grow-your-own scene and are very much a Work-in-Progress! Please don't expect a well manicured plot - and we would be grateful for any assistance & tips in this area!

The 5 acres of paddocks will largely be able take care of themselves for the 3 weeks we will be away but if some of the paddocks are looking a bit too overgrown for the sheep to manage, we have a ride-on mower to deal with it.

Our bigger Game Plan is to start a Social Enterprise / Community Interest Company (with a strong Therapy & Disability direction), on site & should the right person / couple come along, we would be open to a flexible more medium - long-term arrangment.

The house itself is spacious & comfortable  and we would like our Housesitter to keep our home & garden tidy & maintained. You would also have access to my gym should you so wish, and the vegi patch will need some attention too. Feel free to eat any produce from the garden if the time is right for picking & start off any seeds from our collection!

We are situated in the West Country, at the foothills of the Blackdown Hills & conveniently located for exploring Exmoor, Dartmoor, Cheddar Gorge, Wookey Hole, Glastonbury, Wells & much much more. 

We will be attending a family wedding in Australia for 3 weeks,and feel that a lead-in / overlap time of a few days before we leave would be helpful for any potential house-sitter to get to know the routine.

As alluded to earlier, there is a possibility that a more lengthy stay on an Accommodation-in-exchange-for-part-time assistance could be offered if mutually agreeable.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

Sheepmum22 is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners