Christmas and New Years in Holland! December 12 - January 9th

House Sitter Needed for Username: goingdutch   


Posted or Updated: Aug 22,2023   Applications: 5

Leidsenhage, Leidschendam, The Hague
Zuid Holland Netherlands

View location map
From: Dec 12,23  
To:      Jan 9,24
Days:  29, Short Medium Term to be confirmed

We are looking for responsible people (or a responsible person) to house sit our 2 house cats and 1 bird in starting December 12th, although we would like the house sitter to come a day early to learn about the cats/birds/responsibilities. We are returning early the first week of January. Exact dates TBD.

We live in an 80 square meter apartment in the Hague (den Haag) in a quiet, residential neighborhood near two useful train stations that will take you to Leiden, Rotterdam, Delft, Amsterdam, etc. places. There are two bedrooms (one with a king size bed, the other with a single bed), a living room, an office, a balcony (with tables and chairs - perfect for a morning coffee, afternoon break, or relaxing night), fully equipped kitchen, a pull-out sofa, and even an air mattress. A family could easily fit in this apartment. We have cable TV, Netflix, and wifi. You also have access to two bicycles. These will be particularly useful when exploring the city and sand dunes, and you can even take them to other cities via the train. The apartment building has an elevator.

We live next to a shopping center that has everything you could want. Free parking is available at our apartment building.  The beach town of Scheveningen is a peaceful 20 minute bike ride away, and there is a large nature area by the beach, which is also about 20 minutes away (by bike). I love the nature area, as during the day it seems like you are a million miles away from the city. There are some Christmas markets in Holland and Belgium, which isn't so far away, and Den Haag has a fun New Years Celebration on the beach.

The apartment is about a 5 minute walk to a tram station that can take you to the center of the Hague, Delft, Parliament, Girl with a Pearl Earring, and the large train stations! The apartment is a 5 minute bike ride away from two major train stations (and a 20 minute bike ride to Central Station). From these stations, Rotterdam and Leiden are 20 to 30 minutes away and Amsterdam is about 40 minutes. 

We ask that you feed the cats twice per day and scoop out the litter box. The feeding time is not important, but it’s good if they always have some food in their bowls. They do not require medicine. You are free to go on day trips or stay overnight somewhere, as long as you leave them with a lot of food and return to feed the cats the next day. Kit Kat is a scaredy cat whose favorite hobby is running away from people. Bubbles is shy but sweet. When she is comfortable with you she can be cuddly. She loves to annoy KitKat.

We also have a bird, Tuco, who is really low maintenance. He loves his giant cage, but also likes staring out the windows on the opposite side of the apartment. He has a jungle gym in two of the rooms which he likes to play on. Just make sure the door is closed so the cats don't come in the room where he is playing. 

We would like you to come a day early to meet us and the animals. You can stay in our spare bedroom that night, or rent a hotel room. Whatever you prefer. We are coming back in the first week of January. We have hosted other house sitters and I (Shelley) am a house sitter, so we can offer testimonials or reviews if you would like :)

We hope you are interested in a few weeks in Holland!

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

goingdutch is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners