Seattle calling! - Plume needs a last minute cat sitter to help her enjoy lakefront splendor

House Sitter Needed for Username: DerSchweiz2017   


Posted or Updated: Jul 19,2017   Applications: 4

Federal Way, southwest suburb, Seattle
King County,Washington United States

View location map
Aug 3,2017
For 26 days | Short Medium Term

Hi- my peaceful elderly cat Plume has become a finicky eater recently and thus we have decided to try and find a last minute house sitter while we go to Europe this August.  Plume, Gary and I live in an idyllic spot on a small lake in Federal Way, Washington. Federal Way is a town of roughly 100,000 people about 25 miles south of Seattle.  We all love it here, and usually don't leave in the summer, but this year we are taking our teenage grandkids to Europe, and that necessitates going at this time of year.  I am looking for a cat lover who can feed Plume wet cat food 2 to 3 times a day, as well as adding small pills to her morning and evening meals.  Plume is a very sweet and quiet cat and will cause you no problems.  She spends most of the day outside on nice days.  That makes cleaning the litter box almost a non entity.

In August the Puget Sound area is one of the nicest spots in the country.  Generally very pleasant sunny weather in the 70's or low 80's and probably no rain at all.   In case of the occasional hot day, our house has central air conditioning.  Our lake accepts only non motorized boats, so it is very quiet with a multitude of wildlife.  There is a lot of bird activity, from constant ducks, geese and swallows, to the occasional great blue heron, kingfisher, bald eagle or osprey fishing for dinner.  We have two kayaks available for your use just a few feet from the back door.   There are two patios with a multitude of seating areas, and a lot of flowers.  The neighborhood has strict controls on noise and home upkeep, to maintain our high standards.

My yard is low maintenance, as it is watered with an automatic system except for a few small areas.  But I am a gardener, and it shows in my plantings.  I have been asked to host the local garden tour in the past.  I do have a lot of pots on the patios, as well as a small fountain, and these will need to be watered about every other day.  Our neighbor will take care of mowing the lawn.

My house has been extensively remodeled and upgraded.  It has a large kitchen, dining and living room area with a tall beamed ceiling.  There are high end finishes including wood, tile and stone floors, as well as granite countertops.  The large master bedroom and an additional den will be available for your use, with the other two bedrooms closed off.  There are two and a half bathrooms.  The master bathroom is spa quality with heated floors, soaking tub, towel warmers and a jetted shower.

We are in a really great spot to enjoy the abundant recreation of the Puget Sound.  You can walk from our house through Dash Point State park to the Puget Sound in 45 minutes, or drive it in 5 minutes.  There are express buses to downtown Seattle from Federal Way every 30 min.  The bus ride is about 30 min.  You can reach the Cascade Mountains at Snoqualmie pass in an hour, or Mount Rainier in 2 hours.  The city of Tacoma waterfront with a lot of great restaurants is about a 20 min drive.  There is really no shortage of things to do on a beautiful summer day.

Check out my pictures and you will see why this would be a great place to be in August!  Due to the last minute nature of our request, we would consider someone who can't be here the entire 26 days, but could take care of the house the majority of that time frame.  We leave for Europe on Aug 3 and return Aug 29.  

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

DerSchweiz2017 is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners