Are you a handy, greenfingered couple interested in living the French village life? (short-medium term)

House Sitter Needed for Username: tjkingfisher   

Save

Posted or Updated: Feb 4,2019   Applications: 2

Location
North West France, Landivy
Mayenne,Pays De La Loire France

View location map
Availability
Mar 1,2019
For 3-6 months | Long Term

(We are re-posting this ad due to an unexpected change in circumstances)

We are looking for a handy, can-do couple who are interested in immersing themselves in French village life while helping us bring our lovely old house back to its former glory.

The 3 story house is surrounded by 3 garden spaces, including a large walled garden with fruit trees and a pond. The top floor of the house comprises a fully renovated 2 bedroom apartment, while the rest of the house is habitable, but a ‘work in progress’. The house has central heating and all modern facilities.

Due to work and family commitments we are no longer able to spend as much time as we’d like to at the property, which is our holiday home, but we want to continue with renovations in our absence. We’re looking for handy house sitters who can keep on top of the garden duties, undertake DIY jobs such as painting & decorating etc. and be present at the house while we employ builders to continue with larger jobs. In return for your help, we'll cover the cost of utility bills during your stay.

If you're the type of people who would rather be active than sitting around, this could be the place for you!

Our long term vision is to fully renovate the house and to B&B the lower floors while having sitters living/ facilitating this in the apartment above. 

The house is situated on the edge of a village with good amenities, within a 20 minute drive of St Hilaire Du Harcouet and Fougeres, both vibrant towns with large markets, shopping, leisure activities and summer festivals. There is one close neighbour and a short walk into the village, where there is a bakery, general store, bank, hairdresser, bar, butchers, library, church, sports hall and a regular small market. The house is surrounded by beautiful farmland, has gorgeous views with amazing sunsets and is ideal for keen walkers as it is situated on the route of 2 hiking trails. Within an hour’s drive you can visit Brittany beaches, St Malo, Mont St Michel, Rennes and many medieval towns and chateaux.

Knowledge of French would, of course, be an advantage, but we’ve muddled by so far as learners and this would be a great opportunity to learn or improve your French!

There are no pets to look after. You would need your own transport in order to get around, as this is a rural setting with very limited public transport. No smoking allowed in the house please.

The start date and house sitting term are flexible, but ideally we would like someone to start at the beginning of March, and would hope you could stay for at least 3 months initially, and perhaps longer if all goes well.

We have had 3 other house-sitting couples to date, who stayed for 4 months, 9 months and 2 months, all of whom tell us that they had very positive experiences while living at the house. References from our previous house sitters are available on request, should you wish to see them.

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

tjkingfisher is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR