Yosemite log home with loving pets 12/06/17 to 2/18/18

House Sitter | Cat and Dog Sitter Needed for Housesit. Username: lucat62

Save

Posted or Updated   Nov 6,2017

Location
Sierra Foothills, Oakhurst
Madera,California United States

View location map
Availability
Dec 6,2017
For 2-3 months | Medium Term

House sit has been Removed, Filled, or Not Available

contact other Homeowners

If you would enjoy exploring trails and seeing Yosemite vistas; awaking to crisp sunshine and maybe even snow; walking dogs on acres of rolling land; curling up with a warm and rather vocal cat; and hanging out by a cozy fire...maybe this is your house sit!  

Hi! I am looking for a happy and well-adjusted couple (or individual) for a rewarding and fun house and pet sit! If you enjoy dog walks (in all weather!) and living close to nature and Yosemite National Park, read on.   It's a great opportunity for lovers of animals and of the mountains - if you enjoy hiking, skiing or snowshoeing this is a perfect housesit!

Your characteristics? Respectful, mature, capable, intelligent, active, responsible and emotionally stable. Prior or current homeowners and former pet owners are a plus - the ability to troubleshoot and explain any issues that may come up with the house or pets is important. Please be willing to communicate with me as needed, cope when I'm out of contact, and be able care for my home like it's your own! Please don't apply if you will be bringing your own pets or smoke. You will need a vehicle. Dates -the sit begins around December 6 and goes through Feb 18 - possibility of staying through March if you are interested and everything is going well, but at this point I plan to be home Feb 18.

My comfortable log home is located about 12 miles from the south entrance to Yosemite National Park.  You can be in Yosemite Valley in about one hour.  The situation is ideal for a couple or someone who enjoys taking the occasional day hike in the foothills (you don't even have to enter the Park) as trails and waterfalls are nearby.  At home there are nearly 10 hilly acres to explore and in which to walk the dogs (off-leash) twice a day.  If the weather is fine you can enjoy your lunch out on the large deck which looks over the surrounding hills. My property is less than a ten minute drive to the town of Oakhurst.  Hardly charming or a cultural mecca, the town can still meet your needs for most things with its selection of restaurants, a winery, a distillery, a wine bar, art galleries, grocery stores, a hardware store, gas stations, a museum, a small library and more.  Just a few minutes up the road is Bass Lake, which is a popular destination for boating, swimming, playing in waterfalls, dining, hiking and camping (mostly summer activities!).  One hour away is the major city of Fresno where if you like,  you could stock up at stores like Costco, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods.

The house has a pellet stove and a propane stove to keep you warm.   Temperatures will vary from the 30's (early morning) to the 70's in the winter but there is a lot of sunshine and low rainfall year-round.  We had one snow of about a foot and lasted a week last year.  There is a tv with Netflix, wifi is fast and reliable and  Verizon and ATT work fine in the house.

All of my dogs and cats were rescued from Mexican jungles and towns. They're full of personality and easy to fall in love with!  Please enjoy petting, playing with and talking to the dogs and cats, but be able to speak strongly if Bear or Box-Ni bark at deer or rabbits!   Occasional  grooming would be great.   One important task will be giving Nika and Shansi subcutaneous fluids as they have renal disease.   It's not difficult and right now takes less than 30 minutes every other day, but it requires patience and being gentle.   They live inside with little Osito most of the time.  They get a special diet morning and evening. Baby Bear and Box-Ni (Boshie) live both on the deck and in the house.  The dogs enjoy two daily walks. Tommy cat hangs out upstairs and just needs food, water, lots of love and his litter box cleaned.  

In terms of schedule, the bulk of your day is free for a day hike or snowshoe,  or catching up on whatever at home!  

Please be comfortable following a detailed checklist - I try to cover the details beforehand to leave you with few questions and to make the transition as seamless as possible for the beasties.  I would appreciate the house being kept clean.  Normal routine is straightforward regarding the house and property - houseplants/mail/vacuum (fairly frequently!), remove poop every week from the yard.  

We recycle, compost and try to save energy.  

Thanks for reading!

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?



  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR