Dog sitter needed for 4 weeks + 3 day for my 13 lb Terrier Mix near beach

House Sitter Needed for Username: yclaronbeach   


Posted or Updated: Jul 3,2023   Reviews (1)   Applications: 2

mandalay shores, beach community, oxnard
ventura,California United States

View location map
From: Sep 16,23  
To:      Oct 16,23
Days:  31, Short Medium Term to be confirmed

We are looking for a house sitter(s) 16 September thru 16 October 2023 who can take care of our dog, Bandit Girl, our 13 lb, 11 yr old Terrier mix dog, walk her twice a day and keep our home well maintained and tidy.  We are seeking a quiet, mature couple or person(s) to house-sit in our quiet beach community in southern California.

You must be, non smoking, no illegal drug user, like small dogs and be responsible.

Our home is situated 5 minute walk to the Pacific shore and sandy beach in a quiet beach community, Mandalay Shores, suburb of Oxnard (population 208,000) about 60 miles north of Los Angeles, and 45 miles south of Santa Barbara.   Quick grocery shop is located about a 5 minutes walk, as well as a bakery, Pizza, restaurant.  30 minutes walk to supermarkets, banking, and more restaurants, and Sundays farmers market at the Marina.  About 7 miles to highway 101, or highway 1 Pacific coast highway which brings you to Malibu.  Public transportation is limited.

Activities: Plenty of pleasant walks, several Marinas in the vicinity, and mountain hiking trails.  Movie Theaters, Comedy Club, in town.  TV and Hi speed internet access at home.  Oxnard Beach Park has almost daily Ti Chi and Yoga Classes given by instructors for donation only (no sign up for class necessary).  Also Gym available at Monthly rate.  If you have U.S. Military Base Access, there is a CBC Navy Base about 10 minute drive from home.  Home is in a sleepy community where about 40% of homes are weekend homes.   Neighbors are friendly and helpful.

Home is easily maintained, but not “industrial strength”.  Hardwood floors throughout, with rugs and tile floors in bathrooms and kitchen.  Washer and dryer in garage.  No air conditioning needed in this 74 degrees average climate.  Fans are provided for “hot days” and central heat for “cold” days.  Lovely ocean breeze to be enjoyed in small backyard patio/ upstairs balcony or on walks.  We have induction stove top which is easy, but something to get used to.

There is filtered water for drinking.  No serious garden upkeep required except for monitoring automatic sprinklers.

Bandit is a “special needs dog”.  She was adopted, and has “issues”.  Sweetest dog at home, but is aggressive towards other dogs  (scared actually-but she thinks offense is best defense- dangerous for her, being a small dog)  On walks, we usually just cross street.  She’s got bad knees due to arthritis and surgery, so we also try to avoid her from straining on leash or standing on her hind legs.  She requires walks 2x a day for about 20 min to 1 hour, prefer when getting up in the morning, and before or after dinner.    She is a runner, does not listen to commands, therefore need to be sure access to street is not possible-  She eats 2x a day, and easily gobbles up pill wrapped in treat (if needed) for pain. Bicycles available for use, supermarkets, shops, restaurants within 15 min walk or bike ride

House Sitter Feedback / endorsements (1)

“ The Best House And Pet Sitting Gig In Over Six Years!!! ”

Sit Dates Sep-16-23 - Oct-16-23 Sitter PetComfort, Member Since May-9-22

In over six years of house and pet sitting, house and dog sitting for Yolanda and LaRon was the best house sitting gig ever!!!

It starts with Yolanda and LaRon themselves, who were very welcoming, and let me have the master bedroom throughout the sit, including the day and night before they left and the the day and night after they came back. The master bedroom is very spacious. I had never seen a bedroom like that. It spans most of the second floor, had huge windows and is very lit. The bed was nice and firm, just like I need it to get good night sleep.

Bandit was cute and funny. It took her a week to warm up to me. But even during that first week, she was funny and entertaining. After the first week, she became playful. She took me to visit the whole neighborhood, including the great Oxnard State Beach Park.

The house is very modern and in a great location. It was a couple of blocks from the beach. The beach was nice, quiet, and not touristy. The house was also very easy walking distance from Oxnard State Beach Park. Google it to see how great it looks!!

I would definitly house and dog sit for Yolanda and LaRon again. And very highly recommend this sit to anyone.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

yclaronbeach is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners