Pet & Home Sitter for Two Spunky Dogs and 14 Hens on Ten Acres

House Sitter Needed for Username: Gone_Travelin   

Save

Posted or Updated   Jan 2,2019

Location
Durham and Chapel Hill, Piedmont North Carolina, Hillsborough
Orange,North Carolina United States

View location map
Availability
Mar 8,2019
For Ten Days & Nine Nights | Short Term

We wish to be matched with an individual or couple that would like a week of peace-and-quiet in a natural setting. 

Our friendly dogs don't require walks as they have a few fenced acres to chase one another and squirrels.  They do like to spring out the door several times a day for running, squirrel-chasing, investigating, and patrolling.  Our dogs usually venture outside several times a day, so our ideal housesitter is one who plans to be in and around our home without long stretches away.

Our household also includes prodigious egg producers, so fresh eggs are plentiful.  The hens need to be "put to bed" by lowering their door at night, "awakened" by raising their door in th morning, and a very basic feeding routine. 

We have WiFi, Netflix, and Hulu available to our house sitters, but - way out in the country - we do not have network/cable/satellite television...but, it's so beautiful and quiet, you won't miss it.

March weather in central North Carolina can be unpredictable:  Early spring with lots of sun and warm temperatures - or - a late season freeze.  Or both.  Our home is equipped with a central wood stove for chilly nights.  With just a few houses, our "neighborhood" contains a mile or two of peaceful, gravel hills, perfect for daily hiking.  For serious cycling enthusiasts, there are miles and miles of rural roads immediately adjacent to our neighborhood.  Likewise, Duke Forest and Brumley are close by for hiking and trail cycling.

Our adorable downtown boasts several small restaurants/pubs, art galleries, historic buildings/tours, and River Walk. 

Our preference is to briefly meet our housecarer(s) on the morning of Friday, March 8 for an orientation.  In the past, we've provided a comprehensive "manual" a couple of weeks before arrival so that questions/clarifications are ironed out in-advance.  The manual contains descriptions, photos, etc. for all aspects of our pets' routines and procedures, as well as contact information and emergency plans.  Our previous housecarer found that, in concert with the manual, a thirty-minute orientation was sufficient.  Likewise, she was able to find everything she needed in the manual during her stay.

We welcome the opportunity to learn more about you and to share more information about our property and pets!  Our departure date is Friday, March 8 and our return is Sunday, March 17 late afternoon.  

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Gone_Travelin
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

Gone_Travelin is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Gone_Travelin


OR