Urgent! Sitter just cancelled. Farmsit near Port Perry, ON

House Sitter Needed for Username: irishdraught   


Posted or Updated: Jan 6,2019   Applications: 2

Kawartha Lakes, Port Perry
Ontario Canada

View location map
Jan 14,2019
For 9 days | Short Term


My husband and I have just booked a quick getaway to Mexico and are looking for someone to look after our farm. We have a lovely 98-acre property with a charming restored farmhouse just north of Port Perry--roughly an hour and twenty minutes from Toronto. We're looking for a sitter who is comfortable with both horses and dogs. We have eight well-mannered horses who live outside 24/7 unless the temperatures drop below -12. At that point, three or four need to be stalled at night to keep the barn water from freezing. For the most part, the farm chores are minimal and not terribly onerous--feed grain to the horses once a day, check hay levels and automatic waterers, lots of scritches and love to everyone. Barn kittens get food and water once a day. The three dogs tend to be quite active so no formal walking required (though two of the three do enjoy long walks).

Even though the farm is in rural Ontario, a grocery store, pub, bakery (with excellent butter tarts), a gas station and a post office are a short five-minute drive away. Both Lindsay and Port Perry are minutes by car.

We have very supportive neighbours if there is any sort of problem or crisis.

This is our first experience with House Carers--we generally have friends or family looking after the farm. Please drop me a line if you think you might be interested.


Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

irishdraught is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners