Dogsitter required in NE Slovenia for approx. 10 days May 2024

House Sitter Needed for Username: Merle0007   


Posted or Updated: Feb 11,2024   Reviews (1)   Applications: 3

Duplek, north east of Maribor, Maribor
Stajerska Slovenia

View location map
From: May 10,24  
To:      May 25,24
Days:  16, Short Term 10 days during this period

Hello! We are an English couple living just outside Maribor, Slovenia's beautiful second city. We live in a little cluster of houses on the edge of the Slovenske gorice hills. We are looking for somone to look after our lovely dog Molly (known as Mo) and our little house and garden. 

Molly is a good dog, but she is around 15 years old now and she does have some needs. She loves going for walks and is a good companion. She likes at least two walks a day but she will go out for more, given the opportunity. She is very laid back and is welcome in the local cafes and bars. As she is getting older, she can't walk very far and also occasionally has some problems on the stairs in the house. Therefore, we think the person/s who come to look after her should be familiar with looking after older dogs. She has daily tablets so that she doesn't make accidental puddles on the floor, but we will show you how we trick her into taking them.

The area is known for wine and Maribor is home to the world's oldest still-producing grapevine. The city has a historic old centre and plenty of cultural attractions. It is surrounded by hills including the Pohorje range and you can take a cable car to the summit. It is a short drive to the border with Austria and about 40 minutes to Graz, Austria's second city. Ptuj, Slovenia's oldest town is only 30 minutes away and the Croatian border is not far past there. However, there are lots of lovely places within easy reach of Maribor without crossing the border!

We have a small one-bedroom house with a small terraced garden. There is a covered parking space. The house has wi-fi. There is a ground floor terrace, and first floor balcony as well as a covered dining area in the garden. The house is in a very quiet location, on the edge of a forest with a stream and field across the way. 

There are a couple of cafe-bars within walking distance. At one of the bars there is also a small but well-stocked grocery store. For eating places you need to drive, also for bigger shops. There are bus stops a short walk away to get into the city, if needed. PLEASE NOTE: due to previous sitters not being honest about their willingness or ability to walk to the bus stop, we must stress that you should have your own transport or be fit enough to walk to the bus stop and be confident using public transport in a foreign country. 

We would like to take a holiday in May It would be for around ten days. We have no travel arrangements yet - we'd do that when we have an arrangement with a sitter. 

House Sitter Feedback / endorsements (1)

“ Tranquility in Slovenia ”

Sit Dates May-13-24 - May-25-24 Sitter NowR3tired, Member Since Aug-4-22

My wife and I had a wonderful time exploring Maribor and surrounding areas. Fiona and Darren are great hosts and went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay and they had things on hand for us when we arrived. They made sure that we knew how to get around and they were easy to reach if needed. Molly was a very sweet and well behaved dog. What a great constitution for a 15 year old dog! The house was rustic and comfortable in a quiet rural area and we always felt safe and welcomed by neighbors when walking Molly. Slovenia is a wonderful country!

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

Merle0007 is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners