3 Dogs a Bird and a Mountain River

House Sitter Needed for Username: MiddleForkRiver   

Save

Posted or Updated   Feb 11,2018

Location
Mt. Baker Foothills, Deming
Whatcom,Washington United States

View location map
Availability
Mar 12,2018
For 10 days | Short Term

House sit has been Removed, Filled, or Not Available

contact other Homeowners

Ok, I have to gush a little.  We live squarely on the Middle Fork of the Nooksack River in NW Washington.  20 miles from Canada to the north, and another 20 east to the entry of the Mt. Baker/Snoqualmie National Forest and a final 20 to the west to Bellingham.  The setting is gorgeous if you like nature: deer pass through, beaver occasionally swim up the river, bear have strolled by on occasion (even a cougar cub), eagles perch in the trees and salmon spawn in season.  And it's quiet.  Of course there will be some amount of rain, we just don't know when.


There is snow in the winter, though generally not tons.  It's rare when a car can't get out the driveway after a snow. We get maybe a few inches or more for a few weeks, then it rains and it's gone although we've had 3 feet before, too.  Temperatures can be single digit but more likely lows in the  low 30s and highs maybe reaching the 40s.  It all depends.


Our neighbors are wonders.  To the east is the home of dear friends of over 35 years, one being a retired Los Angeles police officer, so you can feel secure. To the west a blueberry field owned by a delightful couple from Seattle. And the road has little traffic as it's dead end.  You don't have to go far to find someone with whom you can share a cup of coffee.


There are places to walk, with the dogs and without.  A hike up the Van Zandt Dike nearly from the front door.  The river is available to be explored, even fishing in season.  A couple of camp chairs are planted on our "beach" and a bit of wine or a fine pint go a long ways toward calming your soul.  
We even have bikes you can ride, high speed internet, large screen tv, the usual accouterments.  If you are Verizon, you'll get cell coverage; or if your makes use of internet.  But we have a landline, too, so you're not completely out of touch. 


We seek a responsible person or couple who generally like staying home and are in a position to watch our pets and property.  While I am inclined to think that would mean older folks beyond the temptations of youth and irresponsibility, we'd certainly consider anyone who matched our needs.   And, of course, someone who enjoys pets, specifically an Aussie (Devo) and two pugs, Rosie and our latest addition, Moby.  Rosie and Moby are rescue pugs.  Not to forget Peka, the lovebird. 

Sorry, but you have to be willing to maintain a no-tobacco and no-guest policy.  Pretend you are in a monastery or convent, perhaps. Your task is to keep the animals alive and happy.  Devo the Aussie, Moby and Rosie the Pugs and Peka. the lovebird.  They are all getting pretty old, just as we are.  They are each wonderful friends of ours, have been around for years, and are very comfy with their existence.  Devo loves agility tricks and Frisbee so it's a chance to work on your Frisbee form.  Otherwise, just take the compost out, make sure the trash and recycling is put out when required, and don't burn the house down.  More on pet care in just a moment.


We live on a dead-end country road in the woods by the river.  If you are attracted to tranquil, forest settings, are inclined to curl up with a good book or glass of wine you will probably find that it's pretty nice here, if we do say so ourselves.  Good, helpful neighbors just sweeten our existence.  We've been here over 35 years and we feel like park rangers. 
Clearly our sitter will have to favor this kind of setting.  We want someone who is willing to stick around, notwithstanding shopping or a stroll on the road.


And here is the pet care part: There are some matters attached to our dear dogs.  Devo takes medications, which are easily given for seizures and are required at each feeding (twice a day) so it's necessary that you not, for instance, drive up to Vancouver for the night or take a hot air balloon to Iowa.  But he has been seizure-free for almost 4 years so there are few worries.  And we have recently acquired a 2nd rescue pug, Moby, who is in his twilight years and we figured he deserved a quiet loving home in which to spend them.  He received some pretty rough treatment before we got him so we are making up for lost time. Moby mostly just lies on a pillow next to you but has some hip issues that require periodically that he gets outside to poop because his front end doesn't seem to be able to communicate easily with his back end.  There are some simple techniques involved but it's satisfactory for now to just mention the dear guy patiently puts up with it.  Rosie, another rescue, is a piece of cake.  She just wants to shed hair on your lap.


You'll need a car.  There are nice local spots (pub and restaurant a few miles north, ditto a few miles south) and small grocery stores a few miles away.  And a wonderful local library in the little burg of Deming, about 5 miles down the road. In fact, we're on the library board and we--the community--actually own it.  It's a pleasant, slow existence and stands in sharp contrast to my own upbringing in Southern California.

 &

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

MiddleForkRiver is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR