Housesitting in the Chianti, Tuscany - 7 months (Nov 2021 / June 2022)

House Sitter Needed for Username: aquietlife   

Save

Posted or Updated: Feb 1,2021   Applications: 3

Location
MONTESPERTOLI, Tuscany hillside, Chianti, MONTESPERTOLI
FI,FI Italy

View location map
Availability
Nov 17,2021
For 7 months | Long Term

Please read before applying  : 

** Please only apply if you are available on the dates listed, have a car, and that you have the corresponding paperwork (Visas etc. if needed) ; Due to the current travel restrictions, I would prefer to have EU candidates as this limits the chance of cancellations or visa problems.  
We do not keep details of potential/future sitters (this is a recurrent question) so if you are not available on the requested dates, please check back subsequently for new dates. 

** Please verify your possible travel costs (flight and car rental if needed) before applying. There is no point in discussing the sit if you can not meet the costs of travel (recurrent issue). 

** We can host one child of 5 or older. The sit is not suitable for children younger than 5 or for more than 1 child at any given time.

** I'm sorry, but we cannot host other animals on the property

Thank you for your consideration.
 

We are located in the heart of the Chianti region (Montespertoli, where some of the best wine is produced), 40 minutes from Florence, 1 hour from Pisa and Siena, 1,5 hours from Arezzo and 1,5 hours from the Tuscan Coast. We are a tiny family of 2 (myself, 52 , my son, 14) and our beloved 5 rescue dogs (ages 4 to 14). We are looking for a couple (45 years or older) who genuinely love dogs and would like to spend 6/7 MONTHS in Tuscany as housesitters, which could be with or without our dogs. We will be relocating within Italy and the dogs will only be here if, at the time of  your arrival, we have not yet found a place where we can bring them, but as soon as we have secured a suitable home we will come get them and you will then become "just" housesitters. :)


Our home is a very colourful, "artsy" old barn house part of which was restored in the fall of new bathrooms, new floorings, expanded kitchen and verranda etc.) The house is large, very light, and comfortable, with amazing, unobstruted views on the valley below and, in the distance, the famous town of San Gimignano. The house has been split into 2 units : a small, self contained studio flat on the ground floor, and the MAIN HOUSE which is spread over 2 floors : on the ground floor is a book filled living room, large, colourful kitchen and additional restroom, and on the first floor we have 1 large bedroom, a second large livingroom/study area (or ad hoc guestroom on the couch bed)  with their corresponding bathrooms.  The house is located in a hamlet of about 10 families, in the Chianti area and surrounded by vineyards, open fields and woods : True Tuscany!!

Sitters will be accommodated in the MAIN HOUSE (total surface about 140m) ; the studio flat will be reserved for me in the event I need to return to Tuscany for any reason, and if so only for a few days with prior warning. If so, you will still have your total privacy at all times and/or can choose to use those days to explore farther afield (at most 1-2 times during your stay). This is open for discussion.

Your duties as housesitters will be just to oversee the house and garden (cleanup, watering, cutting grass). If the dogs are present, then you would need to walk them 3/4 times a week, about 90 minutes per walk, in the fields surrounding the house (open countryside), and feed/clean up after them. The rest of the time you are completely free to explore the area or enjoy the house and garden, at leisure.

We are located in the countryside with no public transport. You will need to have a car while you are here. 

Lastly, because this is a long sit, in the event that the dogs are NOT on the premisis and given that there are no "major" chores, we will ask that you cover the utilities (wifi, cooking gas, electricity, water) which average to about euros/month depending on your personal use. The house has been fitted with airconditioners, a solar panel for hot water that works well from March - November, and an eco (and budget) friendly Pellet run central heating system for the winter. In the warmer months, we will contribute to pay for the water for the garden.

Please contact us if you require additional information. 

Thank you :) 

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

aquietlife is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR