Log home , cats, horse and hens need a loving babysitter.

House Sitter Needed for Username: gtahaka   

Save

Posted or Updated: Mar 7,2021   Applications: 1

Location
none, Central Oregon, Prineville
Crook,Oregon United States

View location map
Availability
Jun 7,2021
For 3 weeks | Short Term

We need housesitting for our hand built log home and furry family this upcoming summer. We are looking for a mature female or couple in good health to befriend and care for our two cats, a horse and a flock of chickens. Water is automatic in summer and hen feeders are filled perhaps once a week. Yard/garden care is minimal  although I'd like the garden to have some oversight. Animals need regular feeding and egg collection.

We are looking for availability for three weeks in June.   

Our names are Cathy and Dan, near Prineville in Central Oregon. We are both professionals in our mid 60's and are wildlife biologist and wildlife biologist instructor at Oregon State University - Cascades in Bend Oregon, an hour away from our log home.

We live 15 miles from the small town of Prineville in juniper forest on 2 acres in a quiet rural subdivision.  It is hot in the summer beginning in earnest in July, evenings cooling except occassionally in deep summer.  Shutting sun out of windows helps indoor temps to remain in the low 70's F. Outdoor heat of mid summer temps can top 100 F but most often is in the 90's. There is a reservoir nearby (15 min drive) for swimming in summer, with private coves and swimming beach. We are in high desert but alpine mountains are all around within 30 minutes or an hour away to the Cascade mts.

If you aren’t familiar with the beautiful high desert of Oregon, understand this is not lush pine forest. The high mountains are an hour away and can be warm in summer, although refreshing to visit. Our landscape of the desert is sweeping with panorama's of rimrock and mountains on the horizon, the light and colors are amazing to behold.

Our home location feels like trees in desert, lovely but dry and hot with juniper fragrance in the air. A high desert such as ours is hot in the day and cool at night, except winter where we do have snow and it's downright cold!  In summer we have warmer nights although usually in the 60's range. Deep summer nights can be warmer and the logs don't cool as well. Our property landscaping has plenty of summer shade and great spots to sit and read. There is a pond and bog garden to also enjoy.

Our area is known for rock hunting, rafting, canoeing, fly fishing, bird watching, wildlife, rock climbing, and hiking. We offer links and lists of great outdoor areas for our home sitters to peruse. Our own property regularly hosts deer, raptors, goshawks, owls (one sitter knew just when to sit upstairs and watch for them to fly near) quail and serveral rabbit species. Colorful treefrogs and lizards often sun themselves on the logs and around the pond. Coyote songs are not uncommon nearby.

Nearby Prineville,  has grocery stores, cafes, breweries, coffee places, night music, concerts in the park, a nice library, hiking trails and bike paths on the river running through town. Bend an hour away is our "city" 100,000 population with malls, higher energy, lots of art etc. events and shopping a plenty. Many outdoor recreation activities run year round.

Our home is spacious, airy and comfortable. It is a passive solar log home with many windows and doors and a cathedral ceiling. We have a wood stove for cool weather and electric heaters. Sitters reside in a half loft with guest bedroom and bath and small sitting area. It feels like a treehouse upstairs.  There is a master bath Jacuzzi available to sitters. The east side is faced with a deck to eat breakfast in the cool shade of summer. The west side has an upper balcony off the loft with views of the snowcapped Cascades.

Our kitchen design offers a fun space for cooking! Amenities are dishwasher, clothes washer (clothes line dry and TV is not linked to cable or reception to networks. We use it mostly for DVD's.) We do have high speed internet that allows streaming of Amazon movies if you are a member or public broadcasting, and cooking shows or favorite news channels- including MSNBC’s progressive lineup.

Presently we are only asking those with Covid vaccinations by May to apply. We require no smoking, marijuana, drug consumption or drinking to excess while tending our home. We ask sitters to not include us in consideration if your practice is to negotiate among several serious options at once before deciding.

Our yard area is naturally landscaped except (a small aspen grove), small lawn patches and flowers, on auto watering. potted trees and flowers on the deck require hose watering as conditions require. Instructions are included for this.   Some organic fertilization is needed. There is no mowing or yard up keep except filling bird feeders. Other waterers are automatic for other needs and our vegetable garden, if in season we'd ask for fertilization (organic) and picking for eating if you enjoy vegetables.  

We may ask for a ride (using our van) to the airp

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

gtahaka is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR