House sitters wanted for 3 months (mid Jan - mid Apr 2020) in small town, Valencia province of Spain

House Sitter Needed for Username: whatktdid   

Save

Posted or Updated: Nov 2,2019   Applications: 7

Location
Oliva, Old Town, Oliva
Valencia,Valencia Spain

View location map
Availability
Jan 13,2020
For 8 weeks | Medium Term

Our fairly low maintenance, 1 level, 2 bed, 2 bath home with small courtyard & big roof terrace needs a sitter mid-January to mid-April to be occupied/secure and aired. We've no pets. The house is on the edge of a town with the main street (paseo) with shops, restaurants, bars etc 20 minutes walk & a few even closer. The town has many supermarkets, an indoor central market & a weekly market on Fridays. 

The nearest city is Gandia is a 20-minute drive/taxi away. There are buses that run there, but they are infrequent - public transport isn't great in our area, unfortunately. A vehicle is a bonus. You can get really cheap rental cars from Valencia airport at this time of year.  Gandia has a train station which takes you to Valencia city in about 45 minutes. The airport can then be reached by metro in minutes. There is a bus direct from Oliva to Valencia bus station. We go to Valencia city a lot - it's beautiful. We can provide train & bus schedules & apps etc.

The beach is 15 minutes drive/45-minute walk. It’s quiet out of season & is a nice walk.  There's a theatre showing movies in English every Thursday. It’s a popular destination for cyclists & kitesurfing. 

The local language is Valencian, though almost everyone speaks Spanish. English is not widely spoken but it’s friendly & easy to get by with a few words. Not for those looking for a super foreign tourist-friendly destination. There’s a small expat community - mostly British & Scandinavian - with a few bars where you can always find help & advice. 

Although there are a lot of facilities, the town is quiet in winter, apart from during festivals. There are a few festivals going on during this time period. 

Jan & Feb are the mildest months, but there's often sunny days, though sometimes heavy rain & storms hit too. Last year Jan and Feb were really warm and mild. The house is designed to stay cool in summer, so can get chilly. We have a portable gas heater & various electric heaters. The house is not for those who are expecting cranked-up centrally heated homes or are sensitive to the occasional chill - fine if you know that occasionally you might need to throw on a sweater. 

Our house is close to town but on the edge of the countryside with lovely views from the terrace of the mountains. We have a driveway. A quiet neighbourhood - you’ll mostly hear the local dogs/cockerels & there’s even a couple of peacocks wandering the neighbourhood. 

The courtyard is walled & private. There’s a small conservatory off the courtyard. The house is decorated with quite a few bits of mid-century modern furniture & vintage bits. 

We have wifi/good fibre. No local TV - all watched through Netflix/Amazon Prime. 

The main responsibilities we’d ask is to keep the house aired (like many Spanish houses, it can get a bit musty /damp in winter). Then running & emptying the de-humidifiers is key & keeping it clean, looking after the plants & replacing any gas bottles that run out. This would require a taxi trip if you have no car, as the bottles are really heavy. But they last so long, it may not be needed at all.

Non-smokers only, please. Families are welcome, though it’s not suitable for pre-school kids. The living room, with the tv, is long & narrow so we don’t have a sofa, but 2 armchairs.

To walk back from town, it’s uphill, sometimes on thin, cobbled pavements, so probably not suitable for someone with mobility issues. We have a security system with cameras so we would arrange for you to have a login to control.

Having had our first house-sitters last year we learnt a couple of lessons. Getting the house super-cleaned ready for house-sitters whilst preparing for travel was an awkward & stressful juggle, as is having the house-sitters stay the night just before we leave. So, ideally, we'd like is the house-sitters to stay locally for a couple of nights so we can meet/handover, but are not under each other's feet. We would also then arrange for a cleaner to come in when we leave, just before you move in. Accommodation locally is pretty cheap, especially at that time of year & we could help/suggest somewhere - unlikely to be any more than €100 for 2 nights. 

Those with references will be preferred ideally. 

Hopefully, this doesn't sound too negative, but just wanted to be upfront as some may have an unrealistic idea about temperatures & transport ;) 

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

whatktdid is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR