Pet Sitter Needed for Old Dachsie and Persian Cat

House Sitter Needed for Username: poochiepoo2   


Posted or Updated: Jul 15,2018   Applications: 1

Near Oaks Mall, Gainesville
Alachua,Florida United States

View location map
Jul 21,2018
For 7-27-2018 | Micro Term

I need to go to training in North Carolina for a new job I just was notified I got on Friday. I'll be leaving in the early morning of this coming Sunday in Jacksonville. Jack, my dachshund, is 14-years-old and my "special someone." He sleeps with me and tends to follow me around the house. Biff is a flat-faced Persian cat who was adopted from pet rescue by my daughter several years ago, and he has been living with me for the past few years (he sometimes has "accidents"). I put both pets out in the fenced backyard when I get up. Biff has an annoying habit of meowing loudly in the middle of the night sometimes, so I make sure he has food and may put him out then as well. He'll cry out when he wants back in. Jack's only need is sleep and attention. I'd love it if you would take him on a walk in the morning and afternoon.  Note that he likes to bark at other dogs and that there is a pit bull that a neighbor walks daily that goes crazy when Jack barks at him.

Regarding feeding, Jack gets 1/4 cup of dogfood in the morning and another 1/4 cup in the evening. Biff is a "grazer" and likes to eat on and off throughout the day. The problem is that Jack will try to get the cat food if it's left down in the floor, so I'll put Biff in the bathroom with his food and close the door for awhile or put him on the desk in the kitchen (he can jump down but cannot get up). They both get gloucosamine, which they consider a treat. You have to squeeze it into little pieces for Biff. Neither pets have many teeth.

I am an Super Host and have some guests scheduled next week. One is a regular--a travelling nurse who is here from Friday night to Monday afternoon. Another guest will be checking in on the 25th. They are self-sufficient, know how to unlock the door, etc. and have their bedrooms assigned (you will be staying in my bedroom--the master with your own bath:) There might be other bookings--all you'll have to do is to keep the common areas tidy and be friendly to help keep my ratings high. Guests usually don't interact much and stay in their rooms or are out and about. In an emergency, I might need you to change sheets and retidy a room--we will negotiate how I can reimburse you for this, if interested, or I'll contact a friend to do this.

I bought my home in April and have been updating it. My summer goal  is to get all the stuff in the garage sold, moved inside, or thrown out! The house is a rancher that was built in I have a beautiful, huge backyard that is partially wooded. The neighborhood has a mix of young and older families, retired folks, and singles. I have good neighbors, and the area is safe. It is only one mile from I-75 (exit 387-Newberry Road/Oaks Mall/UF exit) toward downtown Gainesville. Celebration Pointe, which is a new outlet shopping center and has Bass Pro Shop, and the new Butler Plaza and Butler West shopping and restaurant areas are just one exit south off Archer Road. UF is three miles away going east on Newberry Rd. (which turns into University Avenue). Gainesville has the new Cade Museum along with UF's Museum of Natural History and Butterfly Garden. You can borrow my kayaks to enjoy the water at Lake Sante Fe in Melrose or take them to the springs.  

The start day I listed is Saturday, so we can meet. I will be leaving for the airport around 4 a.m. Sunday morning. I will be arriving back in Jacksonville on the 26th at 10 p.m., so will be arriving home early morning on the 27th. 

I look forward to talking to you about taking care of my furbabies!


Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

poochiepoo2 is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners