House sitter for dog, cat and garden in the Highlands

House Sitter Needed for Username: kermode18   


Posted or Updated: Aug 18,2018   Applications: 6

victoria, Highlands, victoria
British Columbia,British Columbia Canada
Aug 29,2018
For 12 days | Short Term

my home is on a nature reserve outside of Victoria in an area called the Highlands. there are many trails  directly accessible from the front door, and places to ride, and a few k away are two lakes.  The house is 1200 sq feet two story with a lovely deck. there are gardens to water, thatat takes about 30 minutes per day.  My dog loves a walk or hike, and is very sweet and playful, mid sized. My cat is friendly and easy to care for, and requires an oral medication every two days which is easy to administer. I have no television or cable, so internet streaming is necessary on your own computer if you are watching things. WiFi will be available to you, and a landline.  i also ask that you clean and refill the hummingbird feeders every two days, as this is the time of year when they decide to stay for the winter or not, and i have a long term relationship with their tribe. the drive to victoria is 30 minutes, and the first 4 k require particularly mindful driving as it is a backroad, paved though it has no center line.  That being said i have lived up here for 30 years with no accidents.  the house is immersed in the forest with adequate daylight, ravens, owls, and deer, and plenty of small birds. Every day the junkos come for a bath on the deck.  There are no street lights.  Its a quiet neghborhood, although people look after each other.

i am a writer so there are lots of books. I am a weaver so there are several small looms and a large one set up and in process, a great couch and lots of windows, although this time of year i am usually working on the deck. 

This would be ideal for someone who enjoys the quiet and peacefulness of the forest and doesnt want to go to the city every day. A nature lover would understand the way i have it all set up.  A writer, scholar, artist, would understand as well.  People who like the quiet and some outdoors access hiking and cycling would appreciate this home as well.

There are two adquate grocery shops 10 k away in either direction. I would prefer a vegetarian, or someone willing to not cook meat here.  There is no barbeque on the deck.  I would also appreciate a non tobacco smoker as we are in fire season, and i wouldnt want cigarette smoke in the house.

I will be away doing research and would love to have someone who appreciates this home for what it is and would enjoy the dog, cat, garden, and deck.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

kermode18 is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners