1 month caring at Ancient Presbytery Permaculture homestead in the French countryside France

House Sitter Needed for Username: mycrookedlittlehome   


Posted or Updated: Dec 29,2018   Applications: 0

Countryside, Trevien
Tarn,Midi pyrenees France

View location map
Feb 8,2019
For 13-03-2019 | Short Medium Term

About this assignment...

We are looking for someone who loves nature! Our lifestyle is very much connected to the outdoors and that is where we spend the majority of our time, so we are looking for someone that shares that spirit. Also ideally an animal lover, as we do have a few animals cohabiting with us that need some minor minding. Also someone that is agreeable to living in a modest house that is in a constant work in progress, we have the possibility of staying in the main house, or if preferred we also have a not so finished yet livable straw bale cabin in the garden which has a wood burner, very quaint! 

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter...

There is some minor caring to do around the grounds, from changing the bedding for the cooks (aka chickens) to collecting eggs, feeding and walking Nahka our 4yo Setter Collie, and occasionally though more frequently in the winter feeding our Cat Chapulin (pronounced cha-po-leen)...he comes and goes as he pleases, you'll know when he is around! 

What are the good features of the property and location

Our house is on a quiet road, we have only one neighbour on the lane. It is very peaceful and the perfect place to dedicate yourself to yourself and your practices. We have fiber optics internet, which is extremely wonderful if you work online like we do! We are 3km from the closest small village (Mirandol Bourgnounac) with bakeries, small supermarket, pharmacy, post office, doctor, bank, cafe, bar. We are 12km from a larger village (Carmaux) with a cinema, multiple shops and restaurants, library etc. We are 20km from a major city (Albi) and 112km from Toulouse. Our village is surrounded by some of the most beautiful villages in Southwestern France, Cordes Sur Ciel, Modesties, Saint Antonin Noble Var, Gaillac, etc...as well vineyards, hikes, walks, rock climbing sites, lakes, rivers and everything your heart could ask for! 

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment...

This is a country home, and plays true to its ancient roots. It is connected (though closed off) to a church which is no longer in service. We are in a constant process of renovation and restoration all while developing, transforming and bringing fertility to the land, our back yard! We have 3 chooks (aka chickens) which are pretty self sustained, they just need bedding changes, and egg collection every few days, and there is Nahka a 4yo Setter Collie mix Dog who loves her walks, cuddles and her 2 meals a day! We also play house to a 3yo country cat, he comes home when he wants and begs for food, otherwise he is free to come and go as he pleases. 

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

mycrookedlittlehome is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners