Pet sitter for 2 weeks in Brisbane

House Sitter Needed for Username: Monilou   


Posted or Updated: Mar 16,2019   Applications: 6

Everton Park, Northside, Brisbane
QLD Australia

View location map
Apr 6,2019
For 2 weeks | Short Term

Hi.  We are Dirk and Monica.  We are both in our fifties, with grown up children from previous marriages.  We have been married for 14 years, and have been foster carers for nearly 11 years.  We have long term guardianship of a little girl who is now 7, and has been with us since she was 3 days old.  We have cared for over 30 children in that time.  Dirk works full time as an I.T. Manager and I work part-time as a School Officer in a local school library.

Monica's parents live in a granny flat in our back yard, which is fully self-contained.  They are both in their 80's.  Previously they have helped out with looking after our pets whilst we go away, but it is proving a bit too much for them now (dad is nearly blind, and mum is in the early stages of alzheimers).  We had considered boarding our pets, but feel they would be happier at home, plus we would like to think whomever is looking after them, would not mind keeping an eye on the parents too!

Our home is a 3 bedroom home, post-war set on the side of a hill.  So a few steps at the front and longer flight of stairs at the back.  We only have a small yard, due to the granny flat (which is only slightly smaller than our house).  The back yard is artificial turf, and the front lawn is turf with a small garden.  The property is fully fenced.  The laundry is down stairs, as is an extra TV room and a craft room.  Their is a rumpus room upstairs that leads out to a large deck.  The house is fully air-conditioned, and some windows have security screens.  There is bamboo flooring in the lounge and study, tiles in the kitchen, bathroom and toilet, with carpets in 2 bedrooms and bare boards in 1 bedroom.  The kitchen and bathroom are only 2 years old.

We live in a lovely, leafy quiet neighbourhood and we are surrounded by friendly neighbours.  We are only a short distance from the city, Southbank, Performing Arts Centre, museum and State Library etc (approximately 15 minutes drive).  There are a few shopping centres within walking distance, plus major bus routes are on nearby roads.  We are only 5 minutes drive to 2 different train stations.  We are also close to public and private hospitals, schools, parks and some lovely cafes and restaurants.  If you don't have a car, you would have no trouble getting around the area of Everton Park or into the city and surrounds.

Of course, the main responsibilities would be to take care of the dog, 2 cats and the budgie.  The cats and bird just require feeding, with Tish liking some cuddles as well.  Nevada is generally aloof, and timid.
Pandora is a very affectionate, energetic dog.  She loves cuddles and can be quite persistant at getting them, using her paw to pull your hand over to her.  She usually sleeps on our bed with us, but don't expect you to do that, unless you are comfortable with that.  Pandaro may just choose to sleep on the lounge.  The cats usually sleep on the lounge also. The dog and cats are fed both morning and night.  Pandora drinks a lot of water, so she will need regular top up.  The garden should not require any maintenance, but there are a couple of pot plants that will need watering.  It would be great, if you were happy to allow my parents to contact you if they have any problems or to come up and see you if they need anything.  I don't think that would be very often, more just piece of mind for me that someone is there for them whilst we are away.
Pandora loves to have a play out in the yard when she goes out to toilet, but mostly she is in the house.  She is a great guard dog and will bark to warn of anyone coming anywhere near the house.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

Monilou is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners