Unique wooded retreat outside of lively college town

House Sitter Needed for Username: mrmcdona   

Save

Posted or Updated: May 9,2019   Applications: 10

Location
outside the college town of Denton, TX, About 30 miles north of Dallas, TX, Crossroads
TX,Texas United States

View location map
Availability
Jun 10,2019
For 3.5 months | Long Term

Our housesitters who confirmed in February just cancelled so we are reposting our housesit to begin June 10th (the original start date was mid May.) The housesit ends Sept 17th.   And, an arrival prior to June 10th would be most welcomed if at all possbile.

We are a retired couple living in Texas with grown children and grandchildren. We spend each summer on the east coast where we visit with family members living there. Our summer place is very tiny with no yard for our dog. So each summer we need a housesitter to take care of our dog and home.  This year we are leaving in June and returning mid-September.

We live in Crossroads, TX in a unique cedar home in the woods just 30 miles north of Dallas, TX.   Our home is on 11 wooded acres in a retreat like setting, located just outside the college town of Denton TX with lots of shopping, restaurants, coffee shops and music venues (all about 9 miles away). We have a half-mile walking trail loop on our property that we walk several times a day with our dog.  We have a nice hammock on the top of the hill and several benches in mini-parks along the way.  We have a restricted access gate at the entrance to our neighborhood and a gate at the entrance to our driveway and our house is located on a dead-end street so our home offers privacy and security.  Our house is in the woods which means the housesitter must be comfortable with critters, bugs, spiders and a rare snake or skunk.

Our home is a modern yet rustic cedar house with the main living area and 2 bedrooms on the 2nd floor with a wrap around deck.   Part of the deck is a screened-in porch that adjoins the master bedroom.  The third floor is a loft that is open to the living areas below.  The design was modeled around the concept of a treehouse as the living areas and deck look out into the trees. The carport and a separate bedroom/bath are on the ground floor.  Due to the house design with the living area on the second floor,  our home isn't ideal for kids.   We have Direct TV via satellite and  a Netgear hotspot WiFi (good for streaming).

We don't have a lawn to mow but we pick up the outside area of branches and leaves, and tidy deck and driveway to maintain the outdoor space.  Our home requires a regular cleaning schedule to keep it tidy and neat.  The housesitter would be responsible for walking the trails with Patcha twice a day and playing fetch several times a day.  Patcha sleeps on the floor of the master bedroom and goes in and out during the day.  She is trained to stay close to the house and does not wander.  She is a shy dog but eager to please.  She often has what we call "love amnesia" which means she will act like she hasn't seen you in weeks when you return from the grocery store!  We have several birdfeeders on the property that require refilling every couple of days.

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

mrmcdona is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR