Pet and garden sitter needed in leafy Dandenong Ranges for 5 weeks

House Sitter Needed for Username: blackpom82   

Save

Posted or Updated: Aug 12,2019   Applications: 4

Location
Belgrave, Dandenong Ranges, Melbourne
VIC Australia

View location map
Availability
Dec 6,2019
For 5 weeks | Short Medium Term

We are looking for a house sitter who can take care of our dog and chickens and water our garden, especially our enormous vegie patch, for 5 weeks in summer. 

We know this is a tough time for lots of people because it covers the Christmas and New Years period. Please still get in touch even if you are not available for the week of Christmas and New Years- my family may be able to fill that gap. 

About the area

Our home is in the leafy Dandenong Ranges on the outskirts of Melbourne, right near Sherbrooke Forest, part of the Dandenong Ranges National Park. We are 5 minutes from Belgrave Station  and lots of cafes, bars, a cinema, Woolworths and plentiful shops. Not to mention the historic Puffing Billy Railway! 

We are on the same road as the local swimming pool, perfect for a late afternoon dip on a hot summer's day. 

About our house

Our house is an old 3 bedroom 1 bathroom affair which we are lovingly restoring. It is well insulated, doesn't get too hot in summer, and has a very good air-con in the living room. The back deck is a great place to sit and watch the bird life whilst having a cup of tea. 

About the role

Our gorgeous pooch Morris is a 14 year old staffy who is incredibly affectionate and calm around people. He needs at least 1 walk per day, though we always try and give him 2 when we can. 

Our 6 very docile, fluffy silkie chickens need their eggs collected every day, feed and greens replenished every 1-2 days and water topped up every week or two. Ideally, you would also put them in their big run at least twice a week. 

Our garden will need a fair bit of watering. Given the time of year, you would need to water some vegetables as much as once per day (eg. tomatoes), though once a week for most will be fine. The flower beds would need a weekly water. 

If there is a major heat wave, you would need to put shade cloth (supplied) over more sensitive plants. 

Additional notes

My mum lives only 15 minutes away so if there are any big issues with the garden or the pets that you need a hand with, you can give her a call and she would be more than happy to help. 

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact blackpom82
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

blackpom82 is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like blackpom82


OR