Beautiful house in South West France

House Sitter Needed for Username: lurcherlover   

Save

Posted or Updated: Nov 9,2019   Applications: 1

Location
Rural, Duras
Lot et Garonne,Aquitaine France

View location map
Availability
Dec 1,2019
For 2.5 weeks | Short Term

We are a British couple with one elderly but fit lurcher called Moley.  I am looking for a mature couple to take care of him for 2.5 weeks (2 Dec - 19 Dec. These are our actual travel dates, you might want to come a day or so before...). You will need to be able to drive.  There is an automatic car at the property which you may use if you have a clean licence. I would like to be able to check references. Moley is an affectionate old rascal, with no health issues apart from being deaf and almost blind. I must stress, however that he does not like children..I think they frighten him.

The Lot-et-Garonne is a spectacularly beautiful area of France, and we are in a rural spot just a kilometre from the town of Duras.  Duras is small, but with three or four restaurants, post office, hairdressers, doctor, vet etc and a glorious Chateau which can be seen from the house.  The area is agricultural, and our home is surrounded by plum orchards.  The house is newly renovated, is single storey and set in a large garden.  It has all the usual amenities, wifi, UK satellite TV*, and wood-burning stoves.  It is very comfortable.  We have cleaning help once a week.
Duras is an hour east of Bordeaux, and 45 minutes west of Bergerac.
Although this is southern France, it can be cold and wet, but the sun can still be warm.
*We have average to good WiFi, Netflix, and a Humax machine which allows us to watch and record British TV. The 4G signal is strong.

Moley is walked once  a day at the most, the walk needs to be no longer than minutes. He often refuses to go, which at his age, we think is fair!  He MUST be on a lead when out of the garden.  We would request that you do not leave him alone for more than a couple of hours, and be extra vigilant about closing gates.  We would be grateful if you could water any plants in pots. It is unlikely that the garden will need attention, and we have a gardener who comes once a week. We have a post box at the end of the drive, which must be emptied daily. Otherwise, you can relax, enjoy the beautiful views, and the wonderful local cuisine and wine!

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

lurcherlover is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR