House Sitter Needed for Cat and Cottage Near Cambridge England

House Sitter Needed for Username: nnourie   

Save

Posted or Updated: Dec 2,2019   Applications: 3

Location
Cottenham, suburb of Cambridge, Cambridge
Cambridgeshire,East England England

View location map
Availability
Dec 12,2019
For 11 days, or part thereof | Short Term

We are planning an extended trip home to the US to visit family and friends. Since we are unable to take our cat, Mickey, with us, we are looking for a house sitter from the 12th to the 23rd of December.  

Mickey is 17 years old but has no conditions that need monitoring, and he is on no medications. He is very low maintenance and easy to take care of. Mickey may be slow to warm up to strangers, but once he's won over, he's your friend. We would love to take him with us, but we know he will be much happier at home. 

Our house is a one bedroom, one bath, thatched labourer’s cottage. Although its oldest part dates to about 1680, the house was fully updated in Within the last year, the flooring throughout has been replaced and the kitchen redone. We have a small garden to the rear, with a patio as well. Ceiling height is low in areas (around 6 ft 2 in), as might be expected with a house of this age.

Our little thatched cottage is located in the friendly village of Cottenham, just 6 miles from Cambridge city centre and an 18-minute drive to the beautiful Cathedral City of Ely.

In the village of Cotenham there is a grocery store, a very good Indian restaurant, a chippy, and a few pubs. It's also easy to get back into nearby Histon or Cambridge for a day or evening out. 

A  bus service that runs every 20 minutes, 24 hours a day to and from the city centre. Alternatively, there's a dedicated cycle lane that begins just outside of the village; from there, it's fairly simple to get into the city or to a train station. Our bikes (nothing fancy, but they work for us) and helmets would be here for you should you care to use them. And if you have a car, there's parking, either directly in front of the house or near All Saints Church, just one house away.

Getting into London from the Cambridge North station (easily accessible by a 6.4 mile bike ride), or Waterbeach Station, a 15 minute drive, usually takes about an hour and a half, although a few are quicker. With a bit of searching, return tickets can be had for £16.

If you're interested in keeping Mickey company in our cosy cottage from December, or a part thereof, we'd love to hear from you!

Nick and Kristi

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

nnourie is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR