One small French cat - cute and demanding in equal measure, in ancient house in North West France

House Sitter Needed for Username: Twink1   

Save

Posted or Updated: Jul 14,2020   Applications: 1

Location
Mayenne, Mayenne
Pays de la Loire France

View location map
Availability
Aug 27,2020
For 1 week - 10 days | Short Term

For my first holiday in years I need someone to come and look after my cat, Twinkle, in the northern Loire, for a week at the end of August/early September We live in a small hamlet near Bagnoles de l'Orne, in a very old house, which is comfortable and warm enough, but not quite 'finished' (cosmetic stuff like painting some of the plasterboard still needs doing). You will need your own transport as there is no public transport around here. Prefer single person or couple at a push - it's not small but it's not a big house either. 

Twinkle has never been left alone overnight and I don't want to start now, so need someone to come and stay with her. She needs feeding regularly throughout the day, although can occasionally stretch to an automatic feeder if I'm out for the day. She stays in overnight. She's very cute and really sweet natured, though likes to play at biting and chewing hands and will claim starvation within 2 minutes of her last mouthful. (She was literally starving to death when she arrived so is, understandably, a little obsessed with food.)

The house has all amenities, including wifi, UK TV, dishwasher, etc.but takes a bit of getting used to. It's very old and generally quite fragile with a few idioscyncracies. Ideally I'd want someone to come a couple of days early to get used to things but that is slightly tricky as there is only one bedroom (with bathroom in there) and a double bed on the mezzanine. So there is very limited privacy for me and guests to stay here together. With that in mind and also, in light of Covid-19, I could consider putting you up in the nearby village at a friend's for a couple of nights before I go. Something to consider.

Speaking of which (C-19), ideally (though may not be possible) it would be better from a 'staying safe' perspective, if you could be driving from mainland europe, or at least using the Eurotunnel, as I don't want to go on hols carrying virus ... just trying to consider all options... ;-)

If you like a bit of country life, this is a lovely place to be. I have a terrace looking out over the garden, with views from both sides of the house. Bagnoles is a nice town ( mins drive) as is Alencon (40 mins), Mayenne and Laval. There's a lake at Ferte Mace or about 40 minutes away, a beach lake at Sille-le-Guillaume. Mont saint Michel is about 1 hour 40 away. Buzzing city life this is not so you will need to be comfortable with quiet living. 

I'm not expecting anyone to do any gardening except maybe a bit of plant watering if it's dry weather. 

Thanks...

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

Twink1 is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR