Long Term Help Needed with New Small Scale Kennel Operation

House Sitter Needed for Username: StagRiver   

Save

Posted or Updated: Apr 17,2021   Applications: 1

Location
Kooskia, Syringa, Kooskia
Idaho,Idaho United States

View location map
Availability
May 12,2021
For 6 months to a year | Long Term

I have started a small breeding program for Labrador Retrievers.  My first litter is due this month.  The dogs I breed are rigoursly health screened to produce the healthiest pups possible.  I am looking for someone with experience training, whelping, & caring for dogs & puppies.

My dog(s) are family. They are not kept outdoors.  However, they are expected to behave. This means no meaningless barking, no counter surfing, great manners, etc... However, to get this behavior I do not discipline with yelling, heavy hands, etc... I won't want you to either. 

I will be training in hunt tests and field tests as well as Search and Rescue.  I will need someone that can be consistent with that training when I am away.  

I live in a lovely part of rural Idaho in the Clearwater National Forest.  My home is a 2 bedroom, 1 bath, 1 office, & 1 large storage room house.  I have a large wrap around porch. I live 14 miles from the nearest town that is Kooskia, Idaho. It's very small.  

The help I'm looking for would need to be comfortable living in a very rural area with limited  shopping and socializing. 

We do have rural activity groups such as the local horseback riding group, search and rescue group, churches, etc.... We have water falls near, the Clearwater river and a scenic bridge is down the road a minute. We have hotsprings about an hour away.  A lot of National Forest. Hunting, fishing, hiking, swimming, rafting, floating... this is truly an outdoor enthusiasts dream. 

I have a vehicle you can use, but it's best you are familiar with driving on icy and snowy roads utilizing 4 wheel drive if necessary. Being able to safely navigate to the vet in the snow is critical. 

I would really like to find someone who earns an income remotely, or is retired as I am unable to offer a salary. However, rent and utilities will be free, as will groceries. Also, I will cover fuel for grocery trips, and obviously vet trips, etc..  

There is opportunity to earn extra money here and there.

In my imagination this individual would be independent, able to be alone, great with dogs, dependable, responsible, able to give injections, follow instructions,  isn't afraid of dog poop, understands canine behavior, has some history training or working in the animal industry. 

At this time, I have one female chocolate lab that is due any time. I will be keeping 1-2 of these puppies and / or buying another female to keep growing my program. 

Your well behaved dog is welcome. If you plan to stay long term, I have a place you can keep a horse, at my families home about a 30 minutes drive away.  Alternately, you can ride our horses. 

I work out of town for 3 weeks, and then am home for 3 weeks. I do this over and over throughout the year. When I am away, the home and all the responsibilities of the home will be in your hands. This includes watering the plants, excersizing & training the dogs, feeding, medicating if needed, vet trips, grocery trips, etc...  

Optimally, if I could find someone with a green thumb I would be thrilled.  My landlady would love to see our lovely landscape brought up to snuff, and so would I. It would be a great outlet for your creativity!

Helping me keep the home tidy is important too.  However, I do not expect you to clean up after me!  The dogs maybe, but not me!  

I enjoy canning, the self sustainable lifestyle, berry and mushroom foraging.  I enjoy my alone time and would hope that you do too, because I'm a terrible entertainer!

The home is large.  I have a very large master bedroom with it's own entry that you would be welcome too. However, the main way of heating this room is via wood heat. We would need to go collect wood in the fall to replace the wood burned. This room is large enough for a king bed, a couch, a desk, or whatever you would need to make it feel completely like your space. The other option is a room off of the living room. It's not nearly as large, but is heated by the toyo oil stove, so you wouldn't need to know how to build and manage fires. 

The house also has toyo oil heat and electric heat. The electric is to expensive, so I primarily use the oil heat. 

I have internet, but it's not unlimited.  If you need amazingly fast internet for your job, this may not be a great fit for you. I can stream tv and movies with it, but because the data is not unlimited I do not do this very often.  If you work from home, and need unlimited data, we can try to figure something out. 

I can't stress enough how rural this is. We have wildlife outside the front door.  The animals will need constant supervision if let outside because of the wildlife. 

It's paramount we keep the floors and carpets clean.  My landlady has faith in me that my program wont damage her home. I would like to honor that faith.

Note: Microwave, dishwasher, stove, oven. Gluten free home. Smoke free and drug free home. Thanks!

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact StagRiver
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

StagRiver is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like StagRiver


OR