Long term stay on an animal sanctuary in central Chile

House Sitter Needed for Username: mi_casa_es   

Save

Posted or Updated: Jul 3,2021   Applications: 2

Location
rural, Cauquenes
VII region Chile

View location map
Availability
From: Jul 18,21  
To:      Dec 30,21
Days:  166, Long Term house-sit is until December 30, 2021

We are looking for a calm, mature, quiet individual (or couple)  who loves animals and seeks a peaceful, beautiful rural setting to pursue their creative muse or just benefit from the healing power of nature and the quiet grounding energy of the horse family.

The house-sit would entail walking the circumference of the property bi-weekly to check fences, feeding the horses, dogs, cats and chickens once a week when the onsite caretaker has a day off, doing video calls with us bi-weekly.

The sanctuary is in the wine region of central Chile. Situated on 64 acres of gently rolling hills bordering a river, it is 90 minutes from the Andes and 90 minutes from the Pacific Ocean.  The land is 2/3 wooded with a eucalyptus forest and pine groves. There are wildflower meadows, olive groves and fruit orchards. All are pesticide-free. You will have amazing sunrises over the Andes from the kitchen window and gorgeous sunsets over the coastal hills from the covered porch. The one-level  home has 2 bedrooms, an abundance of light with skylights and high ceilings, and a slow-burning wood stove. It is equipped and furnished.

The sanctuary animals include 10 horses, 7 dogs and 6 cats. There is always at least one who would love your undivided attention. Being around happy horses can lower stress levels and blood pressure.

Internet reception is unreliable so streaming is not an option. Video calls to family are usually possible. There is satellite TV.

This part of Chile has a Mediterranean climate so summers are hot and dry and winters are cool and often overcast and rainy… but the sun usually makes a brief daily appearance in winter and highs can be in the 70’s. There is no snow or frost or freezing temperatures.

Prerequisites: Must be a non-smoker, no pets, no drugs. Must have strong communication skills, a clean record and good references. A full background check will be done.  No parties or social gatherings permitted. Having a vehicle would be advised but a bus passes the sanctuary twice a day, and there are taxis.  The few times I went for a walk on the road, neighbors stopped and asked me if I wanted a lift so hitch-hiking is easy.

To most, this would be a difficult commitment. Six months is a long time if you haven’t spent some time at the place. I suggest booking a week stay through a rental platform, and if it meets (or surpasses) your expectations, at that point sign the commitment for long term. We are flexible. If you can only do 6 months or 3 months, we can work around that but preference will be shown to those available for the full term. It is less disruptive to the animals.

 For the right person(s), this is a serendipitous opportunity.

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

mi_casa_es is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR